Authorized service providers

For device inspection

Accreditation
Registration (limited to certain sectors)

For standards calibration

Delegation of authorities for the calibration and certification of electricity and gas measuring apparatus (C-D-01)
  • Delegation of authorities program description — This program authorizes organizations to calibrate and certify certain measuring apparatus on behalf of Measurement Canada. The program scope is presently limited to the calibration and certification of electricity meter calibration consoles and the calibration and certification of pressure, temperature and dimensional measuring apparatus used in the natural gas sector.
  • Delegation of authorities standard (C-D-01) — This document sets out the requirements to be met by organizations seeking to receive delegation of authority from Measurement Canada to perform certifications pursuant to the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act. The standard requires the use of a quality management system that conforms to all relevant criteria and conditions and is a prerequisite to obtaining and maintaining the delegation an organization is to receive.
  • Delegation of authorities program guide (C-D-01-G) — This document provides guidance, direction and clarification regarding the requirements set out on C-D-01.
  • List of organizations with delegated authorities — A directory of all the organizations that have the authority to calibrate and certify measuring apparatus (e.g., electricity calibration consoles used in the electricity sector, and pressure, temperature and dimensional measuring apparatus used in the natural gas sector) on behalf of Measurement Canada.
  • Bulletins — Bulletins relating to programs for authorized service providers including bulletin A-2—Calibrations of standards and measuring apparatus owned and used by authorized service providers to conduct inspections.
Recognition of calibration results from CLAS laboratories program (RC-01)

Recognition of calibration results from CLAS laboratories program description

For approval testing

Recognition of approval test results from ISO 17025 accredited test facilities (RT-01)
  • Recognition of test results from ISO 17025 accredited test facilities program description: This program allows the recognition of test results from ISO 17025 accredited test facilities in order to provide more flexibility to approval applicants wishing to submit test results from such facilities with a view to reducing their approval turn around times.
  • Conditions and Administrative Requirements: The details regarding program requirements are set out in RT-01 — Recognition of Test Results from ISO 17025 Accredited Test Facilities.
  • List of recognized test facilities: A directory of test facilities recognized by Measurement Canada for approval test purposes.

Technical training

Measurement Canada has the sole authority to evaluate technicians employed by authorized service providers.

Prerequisite exam

Candidates wishing to become recognized technicians must successfully pass a prerequisite exam before they can register for any training provided by Measurement Canada to authorized service providers.

Course info and registration

To be eligible to certify devices under the Weights and Measures Act, technicians must be employed by an accredited or registered organization.

Core courses

These courses provide candidates with a working knowledge of the Weights and Measures Act and Regulations, as well as the procedures required to examine basic measuring devices. One of the following courses must be successfully completed prior to becoming a recognized technician.

Course requirements

To register for these courses, technicians must:

  • Be employed by an organization which has been granted or is in process of seeking accredited or registered organization status and has paid all applicable fees.
  • Have received a passing mark (70%) on the prerequisite exam.
  • Have experience in operating the devices relevant to the course. Device operation and repair will not be covered during these courses.

Specialized courses

Additional training is required to examine some complex measuring devices. Recognized technicians may only register for these courses after successfully completing one of the core courses.

Course requirements

To register for these courses, technicians must:

  • Have successfully completed the Bulk/retail petroleum products or Non-automatic weighing device specifications (NAWDS) course.
Re-writing a course exam or scheduling a course exam for ASP-given courses

Re-write an exam

Participants who did not receive a passing mark for an exam must wait a minimum of one month from the failed exam and a maximum of six months from the completion of the theoretical training to rewrite the exam at a cost of $100. To register, participants must have completed the relevant course.

After two failed attempts, participants will need to once again attend the relevant course before writing the exam a third time. Participants who are not successful after a third attempt will no longer be eligible for Measurement Canada's technical training.

Schedule a course exam (applies to courses delivered by accredited organizations only)

Accredited organizations may deliver internal technical training under certain conditions. However, participants must write the course exam at a Measurement Canada office. The cost of this exam is $100 per participant and the pass mark is 70%. Exams must be requested a minimum of 10 days before the proposed exam date.

In addition to the written exam, the successful completion of a practical exam is required prior to being granted authority to examine devices.

Register to write or re-write an exam

What to bring

Participants must bring:

  • Government issued identification;
  • Course material/notes;
  • Pen(s) and calculator (smartphones are prohibited)
Order a training video

Training videos are available to authorized service providers and their recognized technicians. Measurement Canada inspectors can also order these videos.

These videos are supplementary to the training courses and may serve as a course refresher.

Date modified:

Fournisseurs de service autorisés

Pour l'inspection des appareils

Accréditation
Enregistrement (limité à certains secteurs)

Pour l'étalonnage des étalons

Délégation de pouvoirs pour l'étalonnage et la certification des appareils de mesure d'électricité et du gaz (C-D-01)
  • Description du programme de délégation de pouvoirs — Ce programme autorise des organismes à étalonner et certifier certains appareils de mesure au nom de Mesures Canada. La portée du programme se limite actuellement à l'étalonnage et à la certification des consoles d'étalonnage des compteurs d'électricité ainsi qu'à l'étalonnage et à la certification des appareils de mesure de la température et de la pression et des appareils de mesure dimensionnelle utilisés dans le secteur du gaz naturel.
  • Norme sur la délégation de pouvoirs (C-D-01) — Ce document renferme toutes les exigences que doivent satisfaire les organismes souhaitant recevoir de Mesures Canada le pouvoir de certifier des appareils en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. La norme de délégation de pouvoirs exige que l'organisme ait recours à un système de management de la qualité qui satisfait à toutes les conditions et à tous les critères pertinents et qui est un préalable essentiel à l'obtention et à la conservation des pouvoirs délégués.
  • Guide du Programme de délégation de pouvoirs (C-D-01-G) — Ce document se veut un guide qui oriente et clarifie les exigences de la norme C-D-01.
  • Liste des organismes investis de pouvoirs — Un répertoire de tous les organismes investis du pouvoir d'étalonner et de certifier les appareils de mesure (notamment les consoles d'étalonnage des compteurs d'électricité utilisées dans le secteur de l'électricité et les appareils de mesure de la température et de la pression et les appareils de mesure dimensionnelle utilisés dans le secteur du gaz naturel) au nom de Mesures Canada.
  • Bulletins — Bulletins relatifs aux programmes des fournisseurs de services autorisés y compris le bulletin A-2 — Étalonnage d'étalons et d'appareils de mesure appartenant à des fournisseurs de services autorisés et utilisés pour effectuer des inspections.
Programme de reconnaissance des résultats d'étalonnage des laboratoires CLAS (RC-01)

Description du Programme de reconnaissance des résultats d'étalonnage des laboratoires certifiés CLAS

Pour essais d'approbation

Reconnaissance des résultats d'essais d'approbation effectués par des installations d'essai accréditées selon la norme ISO 17025 (RT-01)
  • Description du Programme de Reconnaissance des résultats d'essais effectués par des installations d'essai accréditées selon la norme ISO 17025 : Ce programme permet la reconnaissance des résultats des essais effectués par des installations d'essai accréditées selon la norme ISO 17025 de manière à offrir plus de souplesse aux demandeurs d'approbations souhaitant présenter des résultats d'essais effectués dans ce type d'installations en vue de diminuer les délais nécessaires aux approbations.
  • Conditions et exigences administratives : Les détails relatifs aux exigences du programme sont présentés dans RT-01 — Reconnaissance des résultats des essais effectués par des installations d'essai accréditées selon la norme ISO 17025.
  • Liste des installations d'essai reconnues: Un répertoire des installations d'essai reconnues par Mesures Canada pour les essais d'approbation.

Formation technique

Mesures Canada est le seul à pouvoir évaluer les techniciens employés par les fournisseurs de services autorisés.

Examen préalable

Les candidats qui souhaitent devenir des techniciens reconnus doivent réussir un examen préalable avant de pouvoir s'inscrire à la formation donnée par Mesures Canada aux fournisseurs de services autorisés.

Information sur les cours et inscription

Pour pouvoir certifier des appareils en vertu de la Loi sur les poids et mesures, les techniciens doivent travailler pour un organisme accrédité ou enregistré.

Cours obligatoires

Ces cours permettent aux candidats d'acquérir des connaissances pratiques de la Loi et du Règlement sur les poids et mesures, et des méthodes nécessaires pour examiner des appareils de mesure de base. Pour devenir un technicien reconnu, il faut réussir l'un des cours suivants :

Exigences

Pour s'inscrire aux cours, les techniciens doivent :

  • travailler pour un organisme qui a obtenu ou qui est en voie d'obtenir le statut d'organisme accrédité ou enregistré et qui a payé tous les droits et frais applicables;
  • avoir obtenu la note de passage (70 %) à l'examen préalable;
  • posséder une expérience de l'utilisation des appareils visés par le cours. Le fonctionnement et la réparation des appareils ne seront pas abordés durant les cours.

Cours spécialisés

Une formation supplémentaire est nécessaire pour examiner certains appareils de mesure complexes. Les techniciens reconnus peuvent s'inscrire à ces cours seulement après avoir réussi l'un des cours obligatoires.

Exigences

Pour s'inscrire à ces cours, les techniciens doivent :

  • avoir réussi le cours Produits pétroliers en vrac et au détail ou le cours Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (APFNA).
Reprendre un examen ou s'inscrire à un examen suite à un cours offert par un FSA

Reprise d'un examen

Les participants qui n'ont pas obtenu la note de passage pour un examen doivent attendre au moins un mois à partir de la date de l'examen échoué et un maximum de six mois suivant la fin de la formation théorique avant de pouvoir refaire l'examen. Des frais de 100 $ seront exigés pour cet examen de reprise. Pour s'inscrire, les participants doivent avoir suivi le cours pertinent.

Après deux échecs, les participants devront suivre à nouveau le cours pertinent avant de pouvoir repasser l'examen une troisième fois. Les participants qui n'ont pas de succès après une troisième tentative ne seront plus admissibles au programme de formation technique de Mesures Canada.

Inscription à un examen (s'applique seulement aux cours offerts par un organisme accrédité)

Certains organismes accrédités peuvent offrir une formation technique interne sous certaines conditions. Cependant, les participants doivent passer l'examen de cours à un bureau de Mesures Canada. Le coût de cet examen est de 100 $ par participant et la note de passage est de 70 %. Les dates pour les examens suite à un cours offert par un organisme accrédité doivent être demandées au moins 10 jours à l'avance.

En plus de l'examen écrit, la réussite d'un examen pratique est requise avant d'être autorisé à examiner des appareils de mesure.

S'inscrire à un examen ou reprendre un examen

Quoi apporter

Les participants devront apporter :

  • une pièce d'identité délivrée par le gouvernement;
  • le matériel de formation;
  • des stylos et une calculatrice (les téléphones intelligents seront interdits pendant les examens).
Commander une vidéo de formation

Des vidéos de formation sont disponible pour les fournisseurs de services autorisés et leurs techniciens reconnus. Les inspecteurs de Mesures Canada peuvent également commander ces vidéos.

Ces vidéos complètent les cours de formation et peuvent servir à réviser la matière d'un cours.

Date de modification :