Alexandra Winchester

Year: 2017 – Province:  Northwest Territories

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Alexandra Winchester

East Three Secondary School
116 Kingmingya Road,  Postal Bag #3
Inuvik, Northwest Territories X0E 0T0

Principal: Deborah Reid
School telephone: 867-777-3030
School email: N/A
School website: eastthreesecondary.com

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 7-12, Art, ceramics, makeup

"Light's On! Drugs and Alcohol Off" - dubbed Inuvik's best kept secret, Alexandra Winchester is a dedicated art teacher who keeps students off the street and has isolated rural students experiencing the world through a travelling art club.

Teaching approach

A dedicated art educator and community member, Winchester demonstrates to her students the relevance of art to society through open ended art projects that bring to question issues of particular importance for the school's First Nations students living in an extreme and remote part of Canada.

Outstanding achievements

  • Winchester founded and organized an Art Travel Club that raises funds for overseas trips to appreciate the art of other cultures. The program requires students to work together for two years to raise upwards of $50,000.
  • Winchester was also instrumental in the creation of the Lights On! Drugs and Alcohol Off program that sees senior high school students hired as mentors for their junior peers. Together they act as community role models to demonstrate healthy lifestyle choices free of drugs and alcohol.
  • As many communities in the Northwest Territories do not have a dedicated arts teacher, Winchester is creating a Moodle that will make a visual arts program required for graduation accessible to all educators, administrators and learners in the territory.

Rave reviews

"Alexandra is a teacher who cares and a community member who works tirelessly to make sure that each and every student feels welcome, leaves school with once-in-a-lifetime experiences, and goes out of her way to provide meaningful professional development for her colleagues."

Colleague

"Alexandra's passion for teaching far exceeds her classroom. Where she's known to be innovative and original with her assignments and projects, she is known to be as innovative with her extra-curricular activities."

Colleague
Date modified:

Alexandra Winchester

Alexandra Winchester

Année : 2017 — Province : Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Alexandra Winchester

East Three Secondary School
116, chemin Kingmingya, Sac postal no 3
Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)  X0E 0T0

Directrice : Deborah Reid
Téléphone de l'école : 867-777-3030
Courriel de l'école : S. O.
Site Web de l'école : eastthreesecondary.com

Matières et niveaux enseignés : 7e à 12e années, Arts, céramique, maquillage

« Light's On! Drugs and Alcohol Off » — appelée le secret le mieux gardé d'Inuvik, Alexandra Winchester est une professeur d'art dévouée qui maintient ses étudiants loin de la rue et a isolé les étudiants d'un milieu rural en leur faisant vivre le monde à travers un club d'art.

Méthode d'enseignement

Enseignante d'art dévouée et membre de la collectivité, Mme Winchester montre à ses étudiants la pertinence de l'art dans la société au moyen de projets artistiques dont l'issue reste ouverte et qui interrogent des enjeux d'importance particulière pour les étudiants des Premières Nations de l'école qui vivent dans des parties extrêmes et éloignées du Canada.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Mme Winchester a fondé et organisé un club de voyage artistique qui recueille des fonds pour financer des voyages outremer afin d'apprendre à apprécier l'art d'autres cultures. Ce programme exige que les étudiants travaillent ensemble pendant deux ans à recueillir jusqu'à 50 000 $.
  • Mme Winchester a également joué un rôle essentiel dans la création du programme Lights On! Drugs and Alcohol Off qui voit à ce que les élèves du second cycle du secondaire soient embauchés comme mentor de leurs pairs du premier cycle. Ensemble, ils agissent comme modèle de comportement pour illustrer les modes de vie sans drogue et sans alcool.
  • Comme plusieurs collectivités des Territoires du Nord-Ouest n'ont pas de professeur d'arts, Mme Winchester a créé un « Moodle » qui mettra un programme d'arts visuels, requis pour obtenir un diplôme, à la disposition de tous les enseignants, administrateurs et apprenants des Territoires.

Commentaires élogieux

« Alexandra est une enseignante dévouée et un membre de la collectivité qui travaille sans relâche à s'assurer que chaque élève se sent chez lui et quitte l'école avec des expériences uniques. Elle fait des pieds et des mains pour offrir un perfectionnement professionnel significatif à ses collègues. »

Un collègue

« La passion d'Alexandra pour l'enseignement déborde largement de la salle de classe. Alors qu'elle est reconnue pour l'innovation et l'originalité de ses devoirs et de ses projets, elle est tout aussi novatrice pour ses activités parascolaires. »

Un collègue
Date de modification :