Bruce Cable

Year: 2017 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Bruce Cable

Victoria School of the Arts
10210 108 Avenue N.W.
Edmonton, Alberta T5C 1A8

Principal: Tami Dowler-Coltman
School telephone: 780-426-3010
School email: victoria@epsb.ca
School website: victoria-school.ca

Subjects and grades taught:  Grades 7-12, Choral music, vocal jazz

Bruce Cable is a teacher who creates music with his students. He builds a classroom of mutual respect, caring and good humor – not to mention state-of-the-art equipment. Students execute authentic performances by working collaboratively toward a common goal and gaining a deeper understanding of the music.

Teaching approach

Cable creatively integrates a multi-disciplinary approach. He not only looks to the past to deepen student understanding, but also uses contemporary music as a way to make choral music relevant to the students while still adhering to curriculum standards.

Outstanding achievements

  • A choir from South Africa, a guest artist from Namibia, a conductor from Red Deer – Cable shows students different viewpoints by inviting members of local and national level music communities into his classroom.
  • Cable's students participate frequently in festivals at the local and national level, and  have received top honors. The choirs also perform in the community to raise funds for local charities.
  • Students are mentored by professionals in the field,  and they played the role of sound technicians in a recording studio for the  Jazz Choir's inaugural CD.
  • Cable has been instrumental in addressing the changing role of gender and traditionally assigned voices in a choir within his school and community, as well as selecting  song lyrics that are more gender neutral.

Rave reviews

"It is [Cable's] gentle way of earning the respect and cooperation of his students that identifies him as a teacher who  is truly working alongside his students in pursuit of something special."

Assistant principal and nominator

"To watch this master teacher at work, sharing his passion for music, play and the relationships between art and our humanity is a joy that is mirrored in the faces and more specifically in the voices of his students at work."

Principal
Date modified:

Bruce Cable

Année : 2017 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Bruce Cable

Victoria School of the Arts
10210-108, avenue N.O.
Edmonton (Alberta)  T5C 1A8

Directrice : Tami Dowler-Coltman
Téléphone de l'école : 780-426-3010
Courriel de l'école : victoria@epsb.ca
Site Web de l'école : victoria-school.ca

Matières et niveaux enseignés : 7e à 12e années, chorale, jazz vocal

Bruce Cable est un enseignant qui crée de la musique avec ses élèves. Il bâtit une classe de respect mutuel, de bienveillance et de bonne humeur, sans parler d'un équipement de pointe. Les élèves donnent des performances authentiques en travaillant ensemble à un but commun et en approfondissant leur compréhension de la musique.

Méthode d'enseignement

M. Cable intègre de façon créative une démarche multidisciplinaire. Il ne considère pas seulement le passé pour approfondir la compréhension de l'élève, il exploite aussi la musique contemporaine afin de rendre la musique chorale pertinente aux yeux des élèves tout en adhérant aux normes du programme.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Un chœur d'Afrique du Sud, un artiste invité de Namibie, un chef d'orchestre de Red Deer : M. Cable offre aux élèves différents points de vue en invitant des membres des communautés musicales locales et nationales dans sa classe.
  • Les élèves de M. Cable participent fréquemment aux festivals locaux et nationaux et en reçoivent de hautes distinctions. Ce chœur se produit également dans la collectivité pour réunir des fonds pour les œuvres caritatives locales.
  • Les élèves sont encadrés sur le terrain par des professionnels et jouent le rôle de techniciens du son dans le studio d'enregistrement pour le premier CD du chœur de jazz.
  • M. Cable a joué un rôle important, à l'école et dans la collectivité, dans l'évolution du rôle et du genre des voix traditionnellement assignées, tout comme il a choisi des paroles de chanson plus neutres.

Commentaires élogieux

« C'est sa manière douce [de M. Cable] d'obtenir le respect et la coopération de ses élèves qui fait de lui un enseignant qui travaille vraiment avec eux à la recherche de quelque chose de particulier. »

Directeur adjoint qui a proposé le candidat

« Regarder ce maître-enseignant travailler, partager sa passion pour la musique et jouer, et les relations entre l'art et notre humanité sont une joie que les visages, et plus encore les voix, de ses élèves reflètent au travail. »

Le directeur
Date de modification :