Andrew Stickings

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Nova Scotia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

École Grosvenor Wentworth Park School
4 Downing Street
Halifax, NS B3M 2G4

Principal: Lynn Corkum
School Tel.: 902–457–8422
School Fax: 902–457–8430
/> School Email: gwp@hrsb.ns.ca

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects for grade 5

Teaching approach

Lights, camera, action … Reel Student Productions presents Andrew Stickings' grade 5 history lesson. Students get two thumbs up as they learn how to make history come to life. They write and edit historical scripts, produce film shoots, direct historically accurate scenes, create sets, costumes and special effects. Mr. Stickings' success lies largely in his ability to make connections with the larger community for his students.

Outstanding achievements:

  • In 2007, he promoted pride in Canadian Heritage through partnership with the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic and Pier 21 to produce short films on Canadian heritage and history. The project was called Reel History Project.
  • Mr. Stickings' class is often involved in international and national video competitions, which have garnered them the opportunity to travel to exotic places like Japan and Australia. Most recently, his students saw incredible success at the Ottawa International Animation Festival. Their film about energy conservation, The Bright, the Bad and the Ugly, beat out 70 entries from around the world.
  • Mr. Stickings was selected as an Apple Distinguished Educator for his use of technology in the classroom in 2009 and more recently as an Apple Certified Professional Development Consultant.

Rave Reviews

"Simply stated, history is alive and Andrew has facilitated this revelation. The students' view of history will never be the same nor will the learning end here."

Vice-principal

"I never dreamed I would be able to go on a trip to Japan, experience a different culture and learn so many new things. Mr. Stickings, in my opinion, is one of the greatest teachers I've ever had. He made learning fun and exciting for everyone."

Student

Andrew Stickings

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Nouvelle-Écosse

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

ÉcoleGrosvenor Wentworth Park School
4, rue Downing
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) B3M 2G4

Directrice : Lynn Corkum
Téléphone de l'école : 902-457-8422
Télécopieur de l'école : 902-457-8430
Courriel de l'école : gwp@hrsb.ns.ca

Années et matières : Toutes les matières en 5e année

Méthode d'enseignement

Lumières, caméra, action… Reel Student Productions présente le cours d'histoire de 5e année d'Andrew Stickings. On ne tarit pas d'éloges pour les élèves qui apprennent à faire revivre l'histoire. Ils rédigent des scénarios historiques, font des prises de vue, dirigent des scènes fidèles à l'histoire, créent des décors, des costumes et des effets spéciaux. La réussite de Monsieur Stickings repose en grande partie sur sa capacité d'établir des liens avec la collectivité en général au bénéfice de ses élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • En 2007, il a fait la promotion de la fierté à l'égard du Patrimoine canadien en collaborant avec le Musée maritime de l'Atlantique et Quai 21 à la production de courts métrages sur le patrimoine et l'histoire du Canada. Son projet s'intitule Reel History Project.
  • Les élèves de Monsieur Stickings participent souvent à des compétitions de vidéo nationales et internationales, qui leur ont permis de voyager dans des endroits exotiques comme le Japon et l'Australie. Dernièrement, ses élèves ont remporté un vif succès dans le cadre du Festival international de l'animation d'Ottawa. Leur film sur la conservation de l'énergie intitulé The Bright, the Bad and the Ugly a été sélectionné parmi 70 concurrents provenant du monde entier. 
  • En 2009, Monsieur Stickings a été élu Apple Distinguished Educator pour l'utilisation qu'il fait de la technologie en classe et plus récemment, Apple Certified Professional Development Consultant.

Commentaires élogieux 

« En termes simples, l'histoire est vivante et c'est grâce à Andrew. Les élèves ne verront plus jamais l'histoire de la même manière et leur apprentissage ne s'arrêtera pas là. »

- Le directeur adjoint

« Jamais je n'aurais rêvé d'aller au Japon, de connaître une culture différente et d'en apprendre autant. Monsieur Stickings, pour moi, est l'un des meilleurs enseignants que j'ai eus. Il rend l'apprentissage amusant et passionnant pour chacun. »

- Un élève