Denise Squizzato

Year: 2010–2011 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Denise Squizzato

Silver Creek Pre-School
65 Hartsdale Drive
Etobicoke, ON M9R 2S8

Telephone: 416-249-9770
Fax: 416-249-2417
Email: Denise Squizzato
Website: Silver Creek Pre-School

Video Profile

Type of Setting: Specialized childcare for children aged 2 to 5

Denise Squizzato ignites excellence in every child who comes through the door. Charged with the difficult task of providing individual care to a group of children with varying developmental backgrounds, her classroom is incredibly bright, cheerful and involved. Her patience never ending, Ms. Squizzato is constantly delighted by the children.

Philosophy of Care

Ms. Squizzato takes the time to get to know each and every child, their individual needs and preferences. She finds innovative ways to get everyone involved, making choices and helping each other. With a classroom where 80% of children have special needs, Ms. Squizzato endless patience helps her form bonds with the children in her care.

Support of Child Development

  • Ms. Squizzato incorporates local to international events into daily activities for the children. From making medals during the Olympics, to "clean up your city day," her activities are relevant and tailored to the children's abilities.
  • Creative adaptations are made for every child and for every activity. At circle time, circles are conducted using a language model that incorporates pictures, signing, and the spoken word. Books and learning materials are adapted to allow for all individuals to participate.

Involvement with Parents, Families and the Community

  • Ms. Squizzato implemented a Parent-Child Interaction Group for parents to witness first-hand what their children learn throughout the day. She ran an informal discussion based on the question "what about your child delights you?" and everyone left with a handful of goodies, including a CD, and a book of words, signs and pictures that captured the day.
  • For children who might have a difficult time communicating what they did at school, Ms. Squizzato sends home daily How Was My Day reports. The reports include what and who they played with, what they ate, songs and signs they learned. She also takes time to sit down with each family to set goals and understand all of a child's needs.
  • As many of the children Ms. Squizzato works with attend other programs throughout the day, she does a seamless job of providing support, strategies and suggestions to other educators in order to ensure continuity.

Rave Reviews

"The world is in great need of people like "teacher" Denise. If there were more Denises that engaged and loved our children, our world and education system would be a better place."

Parent

"There are many people in our lives whom we feel extremely blessed to know and Denise is one of those at the top of that list. The love that she offered to us as we walked through the door to her classroom has grown into a beautiful relationship with our daughter and our little family."

Parent

Denise Squizzato

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Denise Squizzato

Silver Creek Pre-School
65, promenade Hartsdale
Etobicoke (Ontario) M9R 2S8

Téléphone : 416-249-9770
Télécopieur : 416-249-2417
Courriel : Denise Squizzato
Site Web : Silver Creek Pre-School (anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance spécialisé pour enfants de 2 à 5 ans

Chargée de la difficile tâche d'apporter des soins individuels à des enfants aux différents antécédents développementaux, Denise Squizzato a le don de tirer l'excellence de chaque enfant qui passe sa porte. Sa classe est incroyablement claire, gaie et engagée. Sa patience étant sans limites, Madame Squizzato est constamment enchantée par ses les enfants.

Démarche éducative

Madame Squizzato prend le temps d'apprendre à connaître chaque enfant, ses besoins personnels et ses préférences. Elle trouve des façons novatrices de faire participer tout un chacun en leur faisant faire des choix et s'entraider. La patience infinie de Madame Squizzato l'aide à tisser des liens avec les enfants de sa classe composée à 80 % d'les enfants aux besoins particuliers.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Madame Squizzato intègre des événements locaux et internationaux dans ses activités quotidiennes avec les enfants. Qu'il s'agisse de fabriquer des médailles pendant les Olympiques ou de participer à la journée de nettoyage de la ville, ses activités sont pertinentes et adaptées aux capacités de ses les enfants.
  • Chaque enfant et chaque activité font l'objet d'adaptations créatives. À l'heure du cercle, les activités sont menées en langage parlé et gestuel et en images. Les livres et le matériel didactique sont adaptés en vue de favoriser la participation individuelle de chacun des enfants.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Madame Squizzato a mis sur pied un groupe d'interaction parent-enfant qui permet aux parents de constater par eux-mêmes ce que leurs enfants apprennent dans la journée. Elle a dirigé une discussion informelle fondée sur la question « qu'est-ce qui vous enchante chez votre enfant? » et chacun est reparti avec des cadeaux, dont un CD et un album remplis de mots, de signes et de photos immortalisant la journée.
  • Pour les enfants qui ont de la difficulté à verbaliser ce qu'ils ont fait à l'école, Madame Squizzato envoie chaque jour des rapports How Was My Day (Comment s'est passé ma journée). Les rapports mentionnent avec quoi et avec qui l'enfant a joué, ce qu'il a mangé, les chansons et les signes qu'il a appris. Elle prend également le temps de rencontrer chaque famille pour fixer des objectifs et comprendre les besoins de l'enfant.
  • Comme plusieurs de ses enfants participent à d'autres programmes tout au long de la journée, Madame Squizzato offre du soutien, des stratégies et des suggestions aux autres éducateurs pour assurer une certaine continuité.

Commentaires élogieux

« Le monde a grandement besoin d'enseignants comme Denise. S'il y avait plus de Denise pour encadrer et aimer nos enfants, notre monde et notre système d'éducation s'en trouveraient améliorés. »

Un parent

« Il y a de nombreuses personnes qui embellissent nos vies et Denise se trouve tout en haut de la liste. L'amour qu'elle nous a offert lorsque nous avons mis le pied dans sa classe s'est transformé en une merveilleuse relation avec notre fille et notre petite famille. »

Un parent