G-14—Policy on granting conditional permission for using gas meters in service without verification and sealing at the low intervention trade transaction level of the natural gas market

The copy of this document located on Measurement Canada’s website is considered to be the controlled copy.

Category: Gas
Bulletin: G-14 (rev. 4)
Document(s): EGI Act, subsection 9(2); NGTSR Recommendation 10(b)
Issue Date: 2009-06-08
Effective Date: 2009-06-08
Supersedes: G-14 (rev. 3)


Table of contents


1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to communicate the requirements for granting of conditional permission for the use of gas meters without verification and sealing, at the Low Intervention Trade Transaction level of the natural gas market.

2.0 Scope

2.1 This bulletin applies to all gas meters used in metering installations where the average meter pressure equals or exceeds 100 psia and where the requirements of section 6.0 of this Bulletin have been met.

2.2 The requirements of this bulletin apply retroactively to any gas meters that were previously granted an exemption (i.e. conditional permission) from verification and sealing under earlier versions of this bulletin.

3.0 Authority

A conditional permission issued by Measurement Canada (MC) in accordance with this bulletin will be granted under the authority of subsection 9(2) of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.

4.0 References

Electricity and Gas Inspection Act (R.S. 1985, c. E-4), s.s. 9(2)

Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations (SOR/86-131), s.s. 11(2)

Measurement Canada's Senior Management Committee (SMC) Decisions on the Natural Gas Trade Sector Review (NGTSR) Recommendations (2003-01-22), Recommendation 10(b): Low Intervention

5.0 Terminology

Average Meter Pressure:

The time weighted or the volume weighted average of the pressures exerted by the gas within a meter during the period a volume of gas is measured by the meter.

Large Industrial End-user:

Natural gas end-use customers or purchasers that can generally be described or classified as "large industrial" or "large institutional", which are covered by a contract or a tariff agreement. The associated gas meters may be located at either of the metering points illustrated by the letters "C" and "E" in Appendix A.

Note: Some large industrial end-users may also be a seller or purchaser of natural gas at an upstream transmission receipt point, or may own/operate a co-generation power plant. Gas contractors may use differing names and criteria for the classification of these customers. For the purposes of this bulletin, the intended meaning of the term "large industrial end-user" includes users of raw stock, power plants, steel mills, smelters, fertilizer plants, pulp and paper operations, sugar and grain processing plants, mining operations, glass manufacturing plants, cement plants, large universities, large hospitals, and other similar establishments.

Local Distribution Company Receipt Point:

The point of measurement where natural gas, which is of the composition suitable for retail sale, enters the distribution pipeline system of a local distribution company (LDC). This metering point is illustrated by the letter "D" in Appendix A.

Low Intervention Trade Transactions:

Trade transactions where the basis of the charge, for the gas supplied, is obtained from a meter falling within the scope of this Bulletin, for which conditional permission was granted under the subject requirements for use without verification and sealing.

Transmission Receipt Point:

The point of measurement where natural gas, which is of the composition suitable for retail sale, enters a transportation pipeline for the purpose of distribution between another transmission company, a local distribution company, or an end-user. This metering point is illustrated by the letter "B" in Appendix A.

Verification:

All of the operations carried out by an inspector or an accredited meter verifier (authorized service provider), having the object of ascertaining and confirming that a meter entirely satisfies specified requirements. It also includes the application of a verification mark. Any reference to "verification" includes both the initial verification and subsequent reverification of a meter, whether performed by 100% inspection or through the use of statistical sampling methods authorized by MC.

6.0 Policy—conditional permission

6.1 General

Subject to the requirements of section 6.2, permission may be requested from MC for placing gas meters into service without verification and sealing, under the following conditions:

6.1.1 Compliance with all requirements of this bulletin will be ascertained by MC prior to granting a conditional permission under this policy.

6.1.2 The metering used for the Low Intervention Trade Transactions is located at either a transmission receipt point, a local distribution company receipt point, or a large industrial end-user metering point.

6.1.3 Subject to clauses 6.1.4, 6.1.5, and 6.1.6, a contractual agreement or a tariff agreement shall exist between the parties involved in the Low Intervention Trade Transactions, and shall contain the following information:

  1. a statement which explains that the Low Intervention Trade Transactions are to be subject to the provisions and conditions listed in MC Bulletin G-14, and that a copy of this bulletin may be viewed on MC's website.
  2. a statement that the subject meters will be initially calibrated and periodically recalibrated (and reprogrammed where necessary) in accordance with a process and procedures acceptable to both parties.
  3. a description of the process to be followed for resolving any measurement disputes arising between the parties.
  4. a statement acknowledging that the conditional permission being requested may restrict MC's ability to successfully conclude a measurement dispute investigation, if MC involvement were to be requested.
  5. a statement that the parties involved have agreed to the implementation of Low Intervention Trade Transactions in accordance with MC Bulletin G-14, plus a statement that either party has the right to request a revocation of the conditional permission for Low Intervention Trade Transactions, and that any request for revocation shall be presented in writing and include the reason(s) for requesting the revocation.

6.1.4 Where Low Intervention Trade Transactions are to be implemented between parties for whom there already exists a contractual agreement or tariff agreement, the wording of that agreement need not be amended to meet the requirements of clause 6.1.3, provided that the information listed in clause 6.1.3 is formally communicated in writing to each affected party. Upon subsequent revision or renewal of the contractual agreement or tariff agreement, the information required by clause 6.1.3 shall then be added to the agreement.

6.1.5 For trade transactions at LDC Receipt Points and Large Industrial End-user metering points, the applicant, prior to making application to MC for the conditional permission available under this bulletin, shall first obtain written consent from each of the parties with whom the applicant intends to implement Low Intervention Trade Transactions.

6.1.6 The requirements of 6.1.5 are not applicable to applications for conditional permission which concern trade transactions occurring at Transmission Receipt Points, nor to trade transactions occurring at Large Industrial End-user metering points where the party receiving the gas is also a party delivering gas at a Transmission Receipt Point.

6.1.7 A gas meter used in Low Intervention Trade Transactions shall:

  1. be a model which has been approved under a MC Notice of Approval, and any installed software/firmware shall be of a version that is approved in the meter's Notice of Approval.
  2. be installed and used in accordance with the requirements or conditions in the meter's Notice of Approval and any applicable MC Specification(s) for meter installation and use.
  3. be subject to all of the applicable requirements in the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act and Regulations, with the exception of those requirements related to meter verification, reverification, and sealing.
  4. not have its readings used for trade transactions with parties downstream of the Transmission Receipt Point that are not named in the contractual agreement or tariff agreement, or with parties not subject to Low Intervention Trade Transactions.
  5. be calibrated and periodically recalibrated using standards which are certified and traceable to national reference standards owned by MC or National Research Council Canada (NRC), or, be calibrated and periodically recalibrated using standards which have been certified by organizations that have met MC's conditions for delegation of authority prescribed in C-D-01: "Conditions for the Delegation of Authorities for the Calibration and Certification of Standards, Measuring Apparatus and Test Equipment Pursuant to the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, or, be calibrated and periodically recalibrated at a test facility recognized in Bulletin G-16, done in accordance with the requirements of Bulletin G-16. Records of these certified test results shall be retained on file by the meter owner.

6.2 Requests for conditional permission

6.2.1 An applicant seeking conditional permission(s) under this policy shall make application in writing to the local MC District Office, and shall include the following information:

  1. the name and principal place of business (i.e. head office) of the applicant.
  2. the address of each metering site where the Low Intervention Trade Transactions will be taking place.
  3. the name of each metered party involved in the Low Intervention Trade Transactions.
  4. a list of the meters installed at the Low Intervention Trade Transaction metering sites which are not included in the scope of the permission being requested for those sites, including identification of the meter's type, manufacturer, model, operating range(s), serial number, and inspection number (i.e. the unique identification number assigned by the meter owner).
  5. a written attestation confirming compliance with the requirements of this bulletin.

6.2.2 The MC District Office will review the application for completeness and then forward it to MC's Program Development Directorate (PDD) for final review and written response to the applicant.

6.3 Granting of a conditional permission

Where MC's review of the application for conditional permission has ascertained that the requirements of this bulletin have been satisfied, conditional permission will be granted in writing by PDD, identifying the parties involved and the conditions applicable to the permission being granted.

6.4 Revocation of a conditional permission

6.4.1 Non-compliance by any party with the terms and conditions under which the conditional permission was granted, may result in the revocation of the permission, pursuant to section 11 of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.

6.4.2 Submission to MC of a request from either party for revocation of the conditional permission, will result in revocation of the conditional permission for Low Intervention Trade Transactions between the requesting party and the other party, subject to clause 6.5.

6.5 Request for revocation of a conditional permission

Any party seeking revocation of the conditional permission associated with Low Intervention Trade Transactions shall notify in writing the other party to the transactions, and likewise shall notify the local MC District Office. Such notification shall identify:

  1. the name of the party requesting the revocation.
  2. the address of the metering site(s) for which the revocation is being sought.
  3. the scope of the request (i.e. all gas meters or only some at the identified metering site(s).
  4. the reason(s) or rationale for requesting the revocation.

7.0 Revisions

The purpose of revision 4 is to:

  1. redefine the scope of the bulletin to express it in terms of the average meter pressure value above which the conditional permission policies of the bulletin apply.
  2. widen the scope of the bulletin by reducing the average meter pressure value from 200 psia to 100 psia, so as not to exclude metering installations where the meter pressure is less than 200 psia but the delivery pressure downstream of the meter is being boosted to a higher value.
  3. amend the definition of Low Intervention Trade Transactions to account for the revisions made to the scope of the bulletin.
  4. define the term "Large Industrial End-user".
  5. amend clause 6.1.3 to communicate that the existence of a tariff agreement is acceptable as an alternative to the requirement for having a contractual agreement between parties.
  6. add a requirement to obtain advance written consent from the parties with whom the applicant intends to implement Low Intervention Trade Transactions.
  7. revise the list of information items that must be included in the contractual agreement or tariff agreement, and/or be communicated by some other means.
  8. provide for the right of any party to request revocation of a conditional permission for Low Intervention Trade Transactions.
  9. clarify that a gas meter for which the conditional permission is being requested, must be of a model or type that has been granted type approval by MC.
  10. explain how to meet the requirement for using certified traceable standards to calibrate the gas meters for which the conditional permission has been granted.
  11. add an appendix containing a diagram of the Natural Gas Trade Sector with identified trade transaction metering points.

The purpose of revision 3 (2006-07-01) was to clarify that the requirements of this bulletin apply retroactively to any gas meters that were previously exempted from verification and sealing under earlier versions of this bulletin.

The purpose of revision 2 (2005-10-27) was to amend the requirements for listing the gas meters located at the metering location for which permission is being requested, and to clarify that these meters cannot be used for revenue metering of parties not included in the contractual agreement.

The purpose of revision 1 (2005-07-01) was to clarify administrative requirements for granting of the conditional permission available under this bulletin.

Appendix A—diagram of the natural gas trade sector

Figure 1: Diagram of the natural gas trade sector

Diagram of the Natual Gas Trade Sector (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 1

The Natural Gas trade sector is made up of the Upstream production, Transmission and Local distribution subsectors.

The Upstream production subsector is comprised of raw gas producers who extract the fuel from wells, etc., and includes the metering points used to determine royalty charges, the quantity of gas supplied by each producer or source, and the metering points used to measure the raw gas delivered to processing plants. For the purpose of this bulletin these metering points are labelled with the letter "A".

The Transmission subsector is comprised of organizations that transport gas via pipeline from the Upstream production subsector to gas processing plants, and storage facilities, Local Distribution Companies (LDCs), other transmission companies, large quantity or industrial end-users and export markets. The Transmission subsector includes all custody transfer metering points where the gas enters and exits the transmission pipelines. For the purpose of this bulletin the metering points where the gas enters transmission pipelines are labelled with the letter "B". The metering points where gas is supplied to large quantity or industrial end-users are labelled with the letter "C" and the metering points where gas is supplied to local distribution companies are labelled with the letter "D".

The Local distribution subsector is comprised of local distribution organizations that have a network of piping that carries the gas to large industrial end-users, small business and commercial customers and residential customers within their system service area. For the purpose of this bulletin the metering points where a local distribution organization supplies large industrial end-users are labelled with the letter "E".

Date modified:

G-14 — Politique sur l'octroi d'une autorisation conditionnelle de mise en service des compteurs de gaz sans vérification ni scellage, dans le cadre d'une transaction commerciale de faible intervention du marché du gaz naturel

Catégorie : GAZ
Bulletin : G-14 (rév. 4)
Documents : Loi IEG, paragraphe 9(2); Recommandation 10(b) découlant de l'examen du secteur commercial du gaz naturel
Date de diffusion : 2009-06-08
Date d'entrée en vigueur : 2009-06-08
Remplace : G-14 (rév. 3)


Table des matières


1.0 Portée

Le présent bulletin vise à communiquer les exigences relatives à l'octroi d'une autorisation conditionnelle de mise en service de compteurs de gaz sans vérification ni scellage, dans le cadre d'une transaction commerciale de faible intervention du marché du gaz naturel.

2.0 Domaine d'application

2.1 Le présent bulletin s'applique à tous les compteurs de gaz utilisés dans les installations de mesurage où la pression moyenne indiquée par le compteur est égale ou supérieure à 100 lb/po2 (abs.) et lorsque les exigences énoncées au paragraphe 6.0 du présent bulletin sont satisfaites.

2.2 Les exigences du présent bulletin s'appliquent rétroactivement à tous les compteurs de gaz qui ont été précédemment exemptés (par une autorisation conditionnelle) de la vérification et du scellage en vertu des versions antérieures du présent bulletin.

3.0 Autorisation

Une autorisation conditionnelle sera accordée par Mesures Canada (MC) conformément au présent bulletin en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

4.0 Références

Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (S.R. 1985, ch. E-4), par. 9(2)

Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (DORS/86-131), art. 19. 11(2)

Décisions du Comité de la haute direction de Mesures Canada sur les Recommandations découlant de l'examen du secteur commercial du gaz naturel (2003-01-22), Recommandation 10 b) : Faible intervention.

5.0 Terminologie

La Pression moyenne du compteur est la moyenne pondérée :

Fonction du temps ou du volume, des pressions exercées par le gaz traversant un compteur pendant la période où un volume de gaz est mesuré par le compteur.

Grands utilisateurs finals industriels:

S'entend des clients ou des acheteurs de gaz naturel généralement décrits ou classés comme de grands utilisateurs industriels ou de grandes institutions assujettis à une entente contractuelle ou un accord tarifaire. Les compteurs de gaz concernés peuvent être situés à l'un ou l'autre des points de mesurage désignés par les lettres C et E dans le diagramme à l'annexe A.

Remarque : Certains grands utilisateurs finals industriels peuvent également être des acheteurs ou des vendeurs de gaz naturel à un point de réception-transport en amont, ou encore, être propriétaires ou exploitants d'une centrale électrique en cogénération. Il se peut que les fournisseurs de gaz utilisent un autre libellé et d'autres critères pour la classification de ces clients. Aux fins du présent bulletin, l'expression Grands utilisateurs finals industriels comprend les utilisateurs de matières premières, les centrales électriques, les aciéries, les fonderies, les usines d'engrais, les usines de pâtes et papiers, les usines de transformation du sucre et des grains, les opérations minières, les verreries, les cimenteries, les grandes universités, les grands hôpitaux et autres établissements semblables.

Point de réception des entreprises de distribution locale :

S'entend du point de mesurage où le gaz naturel, dont la composition est appropriée à la vente au détail, entre dans le réseau de pipelines de distribution d'une entreprise de distribution locale (EDL). Ce point de mesurage est indiqué par la lettre D dans le diagramme à l'annexe A.

Transaction commerciale de faible intervention :

S'entend d'une transaction commerciale dont le montant exigible pour le gaz fourni est obtenu à partir d'un compteur visé par le domaine d'application du présent bulletin, et pour lequel une autorisation conditionnelle a été accordée en vertu desdites exigences relatives à l'utilisation sans vérification ou scellage.

Point de réception-transport :

S'entend du point de mesurage où le gaz naturel, dont la composition est appropriée à la vente au détail, entre dans un pipeline de transport pour être distribué vers une autre entreprise de transport, une entreprise de distribution locale ou un utilisateur final. Ce point de mesurage est indiqué par la lettre B dans le diagramme à l'annexe A.

Vérification :

S'entend de toutes les opérations effectuées par un inspecteur ou un vérificateur de compteur accrédité (fournisseur de services autorisé), dans le but de vérifier et de confirmer que le compteur satisfait entièrement aux exigences prescrites et d'apposer également une marque de vérification. Toute référence à une « vérification » s'entend de la vérification initiale et de la vérification subséquente d'un compteur, qu'elle soit le résultat d'une inspection intégrale ou de l'utilisation des méthodes d'inspection par échantillonnage statistique autorisées par MC.

6.0 Politique — Autorisation conditionnelle

6.1 Généralités

Sous réserve des exigences de l'article 6.2 et des conditions ci-dessous, on peut demander à MC l'autorisation de mettre des compteurs de gaz en service sans vérification ni scellage.

6.1.1 La conformité à toutes les exigences du présent bulletin doit être établie par MC avant que ne soit accordée une autorisation conditionnelle, conformément à la présente politique.

6.1.2 L'installation de mesure utilisée pour les transactions commerciales de faible intervention est située soit à un point de réception-transport, au point de réception de l'entreprise de distribution locale ou au point de mesurage d'un grand utilisateur industriel.

6.1.3 Sous réserve des articles 6.1.4, 6.1.5, et 6.1.6, une entente contractuelle ou un accord tarifaire doit exister entre les parties de la transaction commerciale de faible intervention et doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  1. un énoncé qui explique que les transactions commerciales de faible intervention sont assujetties aux dispositions et aux conditions énoncées dans le Bulletin G-14 de MC et qui indique qu'une copie du présent bulletin est affichée sur le site Web de MC.
  2. un énoncé indiquant que les compteurs concernés feront l'objet d'un étalonnage initial puis d'étalonnages périodiques (et qu'ils seront reprogrammés au besoin) en conformité avec un processus et des procédures acceptables pour les deux parties.
  3. une description du processus à suivre pour régler toute contestation relative à la mesure pouvant survenir entre les parties.
  4. un énoncé reconnaissant que l'autorisation conditionnelle demandée pourrait restreindre la capacité de Mesures Canada à régler des contestations relatives au mesurage, si Mesures Canada était appelé à intervenir.
  5. un énoncé attestant que les parties concernées ont convenu d'avoir recours à des transactions commerciales de faible intervention en conformité avec le Bulletin G-14 de MC; que chaque partie a le droit de demander une révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle visant les transactions commerciales de faible intervention, qu'une telle demande soit faite par écrit, et qu'y soient mentionnées les raisons de la demande.

6.1.4 Lorsque des parties ont recours à des transactions commerciales de faible intervention et qu'elles sont déjà parties d'une entente contractuelle ou d'un accord tarifaire, il n'est pas nécessaire d'en modifier le libellé pour satisfaire aux exigences de l'article 6.1.3, à condition que les renseignements prescrits à l'article 6.1.3 soient communiqués officiellement, par écrit, à chacune des parties visées. Ces renseignements devront être ajoutés au moment de la révision ou du renouvellement de l'entente contractuelle ou de l'accord tarifaire.

6.1.5 Pour les transactions commerciales effectuées aux points de réception des entreprises de distribution locale (EDL) et aux points de mesure des Grands utilisateurs finals industriels, le requérant doit obtenir le consentement écrit de toutes les parties avec lesquelles il prévoit faire des transactions commerciales de faible intervention, avant de soumettre sa demande d'autorisation conditionnelle à MC en vertu du présent bulletin.

6.1.6 Les exigences énoncées à l'article 6.1.5 ne sont pas applicables aux demandes d'autorisation conditionnelle visant les transactions commerciales effectuées aux points de réception-transport, ni aux transactions commerciales effectuées aux points de mesurage des grands utilisateurs finals industriels lorsque la partie qui reçoit le gaz est aussi celle que le livre à un point de réception-transport.

6.1.7 Tout compteur de gaz utilisé pour des transactions commerciales de faible intervention doit :

  1. être d'un modèle approuvé par un avis d'approbation de MC et tout logiciel ou micrologiciel installé doit être de la version approuvée dans l'avis d'approbation visant le compteur.
  2. être installé et utilisé conformément aux exigences ou aux conditions énoncées dans l'avis d'approbation et selon les normes applicables de MC visant l'installation et l'utilisation du compteur.
  3. être assujetti à toutes les exigences applicables en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz et du Règlement, à l'exception des exigences relatives à la vérification, la vérification subséquente et le scellage du compteur.
  4. ne pas avoir ses relevés utilisés pour des transactions commerciales avec des parties en aval du point de réception-transport et non désignées dans l'entente contractuelle ou l'accord tarifaire, ou avec des parties qui ne sont pas assujetties aux transactions commerciales de faible intervention.
  5. faire l'objet d'un étalonnage initial puis d'étalonnages périodiques au moyen d'étalons certifiés et correspondant aux étalons de référence nationaux de MC ou du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), ou au moyen d'étalons certifiés par des organismes qui satisfont aux conditions de MC relatives à la délégation de pouvoirs prescrites par la norme C-D-01 intitulée « Conditions régissant la délégation des pouvoirs d'étalonner et de certifier les étalons et l'appareillage de mesure et d'essai selon la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz » ou encore, être étalonnés une première fois puis périodiquement dans des installations d'essai reconnues dans le Bulletin G-16, et d'une façon conforme aux exigences du même bulletin. Le propriétaire du compteur doit conserver les résultats des essais certifiés dans ses dossiers.

6.2 Demandes d'autorisation conditionnelle

6.2.1 Un propriétaire de compteurs qui demande une autorisation conditionnelle en vertu de la présente politique doit soumettre sa demande par écrit au bureau de district local de MC et fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. le nom et l'établissement principal du demandeur (siège social).
  2. l'adresse de chaque point de mesurage où se dérouleront les transactions commerciales de faible intervention.
  3. le nom de chaque partie engagée dans la transaction commerciale de faible intervention.
  4. une liste de tous les compteurs installés au point de mesurage des transactions commerciales de faible intervention qui ne sont pas visés par le domaine d'application de l'autorisation demandée pour ces points, y compris le type et le modèle d'appareil, le nom du fabricant, les plages de fonctionnement, le numéro de série, le numéro d'inspection (p. ex. le numéro d'identification unique attribué par le propriétaire du compteur).
  5. une attestation écrite confirmant la conformité aux exigences du présent bulletin.

6.2.2 Le bureau de district de MC doit examiner la demande et vérifier qu'elle contient tous les renseignements demandés puis la transmettre à la Direction du développement des programmes de MC, qui l'examinera et donnera sa réponse par écrit au requérant.

6.3 Octroi d'une autorisation conditionnelle

Une fois que Mesures Canada a examiné la demande d'autorisation conditionnelle et établi que les exigences du présent bulletin ont été satisfaites, la Direction du développement des programmes (DDP) accordera l'autorisation conditionnelle, par écrit, en spécifiant les parties visées et les conditions applicables.

6.4 Révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle

6.4.1 Une non-conformité de l'une ou l'autre partie à l'égard des conditions et des modalités de l'octroi de l'autorisation conditionnelle peut entraîner la révocation de l'autorisation en vertu de l'article 11 de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

6.4.2 Sous réserve de l'article 6.5, toute demande de révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle, adressée à MC par l'une ou l'autre des parties, donnera lieu à la révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle d'effectuer des transactions commerciales de faible intervention entre la partie qui a fait la demande et l'autre.

6.5 Demande de révocation d'une autorisation conditionnelle

Toute partie qui demande la révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle relative aux transactions commerciales de faible intervention doit aviser, par écrit, l'autre partie aux transactions, ainsi que le bureau de district local de MC. Dans la notification, il faut indiquer :

  1. le nom de la partie qui demande la révocation.
  2. l'adresse des points de mesure concernés par la demande de révocation.
  3. la portée de la demande (S'applique-t-elle à tous les compteurs de gaz ou seulement à certains compteurs du ou des points de mesure indiqués?).
  4. les raisons de la demande de révocation.

7.0 Révisions

La révision 4 a pour objet de :

  1. redéfinir le domaine d'application du présent bulletin afin de le définir en fonction de la valeur de pression moyenne du compteur au-delà de laquelle la politique du présent bulletin s'applique.
  2. élargir le domaine d'application du présent bulletin en réduisant la valeur de la pression moyenne du compteur de 200 lb/po2 (abs.) à 100 lb/po2 (abs.) afin de ne pas exclure les installations de mesure dont le compteur affiche une pression moyenne inférieure à 200 lb/po2 (abs.), mais dont la pression de sortie est amplifiée à une valeur plus élevée.
  3. modifier la définition de « transaction commerciale de faible intervention » de manière à tenir compte des modifications apportées au domaine d'application du bulletin.
  4. définir le terme « grand utilisateur final industriel ».
  5. modifier l'article 6.1.3 afin de préciser qu'en ce qui concerne l'exigence relative à une entente contractuelle entre les parties, un accord tarifaire est aussi acceptable.
  6. ajouter la nécessité d'obtenir préalablement le consentement écrit des parties avec lesquelles le requérant prévoit participer à des transactions commerciales de faible intervention.
  7. revoir la liste des renseignements qui doivent être inclus dans l'entente contractuelle ou l'accord tarifaire et/ou communiqués par d'autres moyens.
  8. accorder à toute partie le droit de demander la révocation de l'autorisation conditionnelle visant des transactions commerciales de faible intervention.
  9. préciser qu'un compteur de gaz qui fait l'objet d'une demande d'autorisation conditionnelle, doit être d'un modèle ou d'un type qui a fait l'objet d'une approbation de type par MC.
  10. expliquer comment satisfaire l'exigence relative à l'utilisation d'étalons certifiés et traçables pour l'étalonnage des compteurs de gaz pour lesquels l'autorisation conditionnelle a été accordée.
  11. ajouter une annexe contenant un diagramme du secteur commercial du gaz naturel indiquant les points de mesurage pour les transactions commerciales.

La révision 3 (2006-07-01) visait à clarifier le fait que les exigences de ce bulletin s'appliquent rétroactivement à tous les compteurs de gaz qui ont été précédemment exemptés de la vérification et du scellage en vertu des versions antérieures du présent bulletin.

La révision 2 (2005-10-27) visait à modifier les exigences relatives au listage des compteurs de gaz du point de mesurage faisant l'objet de la demande d'autorisation et à préciser que les compteurs de gaz utilisés au point de mesurage faisant l'objet de la demande d'autorisation ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour le mesurage à des fins de facturation de parties non visées par le contrat.

La révision 1 (2005-07-01) visait à clarifier les exigences administratives préalables à l'octroi d'une autorisation conditionnelle conformément au présent bulletin.

8.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour plus d'information au sujet du présent bulletin, veuillez communiquer avec l'agent de programme principal responsable de la mesure du gaz. Des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet de Mesures Canada et de ses programmes sont affichés sur le site Web à l'adresse http://mc.ic.gc.ca.

Gilles P. Vinet
Vice-président
Direction du développement des programmes

Annexe A — Dagramme du secteur commercial du gaz naturel

Figure 1 : Dagramme du secteur commercial du gaz naturel
Diagramme du secteur commercial du gaz naturel (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Le secteur du gaz naturel se compose des sous-secteurs suivants : production en amont, transport et distribution locale.

Le sous-secteur de la production en amont comprend les producteurs de gaz brut qui extraient le pétrole des puits, etc., y compris les points de mesurage utilisés pour déterminer les redevances, la quantité de gaz fournie par chaque producteur ou source, et les points de mesurage utilisés pour mesurer le gaz brut livré aux usines de traitement. Aux fins du présent bulletin, ces points de mesurage sont identifiés avec la lettre « A ».

Le sous-secteur du transport comprend les organismes qui effectuent le transport du gaz, au moyen de gazoducs, du sous-secteur de la production en amont aux usines de traitement, aux installations d'entreposage du gaz, aux entreprises de distribution locale, aux autres entreprises de transport, aux grands utilisateurs finals industriels et aux marchés d'exportation. Le sous-secteur du transport inclut tous les points de mesurage aux fins de transfert fiduciaire où le gaz entre dans les gazoducs et en ressort. Aux fins du présent bulletin, les points de mesurage où le gaz entre dans les gazoducs sont identifiés avec la lettre « B ». Les points de mesurage où le gaz est livré à de grands utilisateurs finals industriels sont identifiés avec la lettre « C » et les points de mesurage où le gaz est livré à des entreprises de distribution locale sont identifiés avec la lettre « D ».

Le sous-secteur de la distribution locale comprend les entreprises de distribution locale qui possèdent un réseau de conduites qui transportent le gaz vers les grands utilisateurs finals industriels, les petites entreprises et les consommateurs commerciaux au sein de la région desservie par le réseau. Aux fins du présent bulletin, les points de mesurage où les entreprises de distribution locale livrent le gaz aux grands utilisateurs finals industriels sont identifiés avec la lettre « E ».