Maintaining a board of trade

Every board of trade subject to the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA) must file an annual summary with Corporations Canada.

On this page

Filing an annual summary

The annual summary is not an income tax return. It is a corporate law requirement that is completely separate from any filing obligations you may have with the Canada Revenue Agency.

The annual summary must be filed between March 31 and June 1 of each year if the board of trade's legal status with Corporations Canada is "active". The term “active” means that the board has not been dissolved. You can find the status of a board of trade by using Search for a federal corporation.

The information on the annual summary must reflect the board of trade's situation on March 31 of each year of filing. Corporations Canada sends a reminder notice when an annual summary is due to be filed. If an annual summary is filed before March 31, it is not accepted.

Filing the annual summary with Corporations Canada is free. It is only a matter of completing the Form - Annual Summary - Boards of Trade Act and sending it to Corporations Canada (see How do I file my application under the Boards of Trade Act?).

Dissolution

The BOTA allows for a board of trade that has ceased to operate (that is, it no longer carries on activities) to apply for dissolution. Dissolution is the legal termination of a board of trade. For more information, see Dissolution of a board of trade.

Date modified:

Maintenir une chambre de commerce

Toute chambre de commerce régie par la Loi sur les chambres de commerce (LChambre) doit déposer un sommaire annuel auprès de Corporations Canada.

Sur cette page

Dépôt du sommaire annuel

Le sommaire annuel n’est pas une déclaration d'impôt. Il s’agit d'une exigence d’une loi corporative. Cette exigence est tout à fait distincte de toute autre obligation de dépôt que vous pourriez avoir envers l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

Le sommaire annuel doit être déposé chaque année entre le 31 mars et le 1er juin si le statut juridique de la chambre de commerce auprès de Corporations Canada est « actif ». Le terme « actif » signifie que la chambre de commerce n’a pas été dissoute. Vous pouvez trouver le statut d’une chambre de commerce en utilisant Recherche d'une société de régime fédéral.

Les renseignements contenus dans le sommaire annuel doivent refléter la situation de la chambre de commerce au 31 mars de chaque année de dépôt. Corporations Canada envoie un avis de rappel lorsqu'il est temps de déposer un sommaire annuel. Si un sommaire annuel est déposé avant le 31 mars, il n’est pas accepté.

Le dépôt du sommaire annuel auprès de Corporations Canada est gratuit. Il faut simplement remplir le Formulaire - Sommaire annuel - Loi sur les chambres de commerce et le faire parvenir à Corporations Canada (voir Comment déposer une demande en vertu de la Loi sur les chambres de commerce).

Dissolution

La LChambre permet à une chambre de commerce qui a cessé d'exercer ses activités de faire une demande de dissolution. La dissolution est la cessation légale d’une chambre de commerce. Pour en savoir plus, voir Dissolution d’une chambre de commerce.

Date de modification :