Directors and officers

Directors are responsible for supervising the activities of the corporation and for making decisions regarding those activities. Officers are responsible for the day-to-day operation of the corporation.

On this page

Your corporation's board of directors

Your corporation must have at least one director. The number of directors is specified in your articles of incorporation. Shareholders elect directors at the shareholders' meeting by a majority of votes. An individual can be the sole shareholder, director and officer of a corporation.

Note

If you want to increase or decrease the number of directors of your corporation permitted by your articles, you must amend your articles and pay the fee (see Services, fees and turnaround times – CBCA).

Director requirements

A director must:

  • be at least 18 years old
  • not have been declared incapable by a court in Canada or in another country
  • be an individual (a corporation cannot be a director)
  • not be in bankrupt status.

Canadian residency

Ordinarily, at least 25 percent of the directors of a corporation must be resident Canadians. If a corporation has fewer than four directors, however, at least one of them must be a resident Canadian. In addition, corporations operating in sectors subject to ownership restrictions (such as airlines and telecommunications) or corporations in certain cultural sectors (such as book retailing, video or film distribution) must have a majority of resident Canadian directors.

Directors as shareholders

Directors are allowed to hold shares of a corporation where they are directors. However, the directors of a corporation are not required to hold shares in the corporation unless its articles make this a requirement for the directors.

Mandate of the directors

The directors can be elected for terms of up to three years. The length of the director's mandate can be set out in the by-laws. If no term is stated, directors hold office until the next meeting of shareholders. Directors do not all need to be elected at the same time or for the same length of time. A director whose term has expired can be re-elected as a director.  The articles or by-laws can also limit the number of terms that an individual can be elected to.

Individuals who have been nominated as directors and who are present at the shareholders' meeting are deemed to have consented to serve as directors, unless they refuse. However, if they are not present at the meeting, they must either:

  • consent to their election, in writing, within 10 days of their election or
  • act as a director after the election.

Directors' terms ends upon their:

  • resignation
  • death or
  • disqualification or removal by the shareholders.

Vacancy on the board of directors

If a vacancy occurs on the board of directors, the remaining members of the board can continue to exercise all the powers of directors as long as the number of remaining elected directors constitutes a quorum (the minimum number of directors required at a meeting, as specified in your corporation's by-laws).

It is also possible for the remaining directors to name one or more additional directors between shareholder meetings unless your articles of incorporation stipulate that vacancies can be filled only after a vote by the shareholders.

Shareholders can remove a director they had previously elected, for a variety of reasons. Removing a director is a simple procedure that generally requires the approval of a majority of votes represented at a special meeting of shareholders called for the purpose of removing the director.

No directors

If your corporation has no directors at all, including if all the directors of a corporation have resigned or have been removed without replacement, subsection 212(1) of the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) allows the Director of Corporations Canada to dissolve the corporation.

Duties and liabilities of directors and officers

Because the scope of authority of the corporation's management (the directors and officers) is so broad, the law imposes a wide range of duties and liabilities on them. In general, these duties and liabilities reflect the position of trust that directors and officers hold in relation to the corporation and its owners, the shareholders. While many of the duties and liabilities of directors and officers are prescribed under the CBCA, other duties and liabilities:

  • are set out in other federal, and provincial or territorial statutes or
  • result from court decisions.

Note

Directors can rely on expert reports, such as financial statements or legal opinions, in certain circumstances. Directors are not liable if they exercise the same degree of care, diligence and skill that a reasonable, prudent person would exercise in comparable circumstances.

Duty of care

One of the most important duties set out for directors and officers of a corporation in the CBCA is the duty of care. Duty of care requires that, in carrying out their functions, the directors and officers must:

  • exercise at least the level of care and diligence that a reasonable person would exercise in similar circumstances
  • act honestly at all times, in good faith and in the best interests of the corporation, as opposed to their own personal interests.

Remaining informed

A corporation's directors and officers cannot avoid liability on the grounds that they did not know what the corporation was doing. The CBCA specifies that directors and officers, within the scope of their authority, must always:

  • remain informed about the corporation's activities
  • ensure that the corporation's activities are legal and in the best interests of the corporation.

Preventing conflicts of interest

The CBCA tries to prevent conflicts between the interests of the corporation and those of the directors or officers. For example, directors and officers must disclose in writing any personal interest they can have in a contract with the corporation. Failure to make such a disclosure could result in a court setting aside the contract upon application by the corporation or a shareholder.

Specific liabilities

The CBCA also imposes certain specific liabilities on directors and officers of a corporation. In certain circumstances, directors are liable for up to six months' worth of unpaid wages to employees of the corporation, as well as for any unpaid source deductions.

Protection from liability

Consider adopting some of the following methods that have been developed to protect directors and officers of corporations from certain liabilities that could be imposed upon them. For example, your corporation could:

  • purchase insurance to protect directors and officers against liabilities incurred in the exercise of their duties
  • agree to compensate directors and officers for losses they suffer or costs they incur while carrying out their duties, except where the director or officer has failed to act honestly and in the corporation's best interests or
  • advance funds, in certain circumstances, to directors and officers to help them pay the costs of defending themselves in legal actions brought against them. Note, however, that in cases where directors or officers fail to defend themselves successfully, they are required to repay the corporation for these advances.

Directors must at all times remain free to assess the best interests of the corporation and to act on this assessment. For this reason, directors are not allowed to agree among themselves in advance how they will act in a given situation.

However, shareholders can enter into unanimous shareholder agreements that transfer some or all of a specific director's responsibilities and powers to the shareholders. In such cases, that director cannot be held responsible for not exercising a power or powers since they have been transferred away from the director.

Meetings of the board of directors

Most boards of directors meet on a regular basis to oversee the business operations of the corporation. These meetings can be held monthly, quarterly or annually, depending on the needs of the corporation. Directors might also need to meet occasionally to conduct special business.

Meetings of the board can be held whenever and wherever the board wishes, unless the corporation's by-laws or articles say otherwise. In all cases, however, meetings must have a quorum of directors (the minimum number of directors required at a meeting, as specified in your corporation's by-laws).

Directors can conduct business through signed resolutions instead of meetings. Note, however, that in such situations the signatures of all directors are required. These signed resolutions have the same value as they would have if they were adopted at a meeting of the board of directors. This way of conducting the business of the corporation can be very useful for small corporations with only one or a few directors.

Note that it is also possible for one or more directors to participate in a meeting by telephone or electronically, as long as the corporation's by-laws permit it and as long as all participants in the meeting can communicate fully.

Making, repealing and amending by-laws

Making corporate by-laws to govern internal organization was one of the first activities you undertook after creating your corporation. Unless your corporation's by-laws state otherwise, the directors have the power to make, repeal and amend the by-laws. Every new by-law and any by-law change (including the repeal of a by-law) require shareholder approval at the first shareholders' meeting that takes place after the directors have passed the new or amended by-law. The effective date of a by-law is the date on which it is passed by the directors, not the date of approval by the shareholders.

Appointing officers

The officers of a corporation are responsible for the day-to-day operation of the corporation. Officers are appointed by the directors and, together with the directors, form the management of the corporation. Officers can fill any position in the corporation that directors want them to fill (president, secretary or any other position). Any individual can be an officer of your corporation. Officers can be shareholders or directors of the corporation, or both, but they do not have to be. One person could act as a director, officer and shareholder simultaneously. For many small businesses, one individual is the sole director, the sole officer and the sole shareholder.

Decisions requiring director approval

The shareholders expect and trust the directors to conduct the corporation's business in a way that will preserve and enhance the shareholders' investment.

Directors are responsible for supervising the activities of the corporation and for making decisions regarding those activities. Although some decisions made by the directors require the approval of shareholders, other important decisions can be made without such approval. Here are some examples of these decisions and the level of approval they require:

Examples of decisions and level of approval required
Decision Requires shareholder approval?
Approving financial statements No
Creating, changing and revoking by-laws at a shareholders' meeting Yes
Issuing shares No
Calling board of directors' meetings No
Calling shareholders' meetings No
Nominating directors No
Amending the articles Yes
Date modified:

Administrateurs et dirigeants

Les administrateurs sont responsables de la supervision et de la gestion générale des activités de la société. Les dirigeants sont responsables de la gestion des affaires courantes de la société.

Sur cette page

Conseil d'administration de votre société

Le conseil d'administration d'une société doit compter au moins un administrateur. Le nombre d'administrateurs est précisé dans les statuts constitutifs. Les administrateurs sont élus par les actionnaires à la majorité des voix lors de l'assemblée des actionnaires. Un individu peut être le seul actionnaire, administrateur et dirigeant d'une société.

Note

Si vous désirez modifier le nombre d'administrateurs indiqué dans les statuts de la société, vous devez modifier vos statuts et payer les frais (voir Services, frais et délais d'exécution − LCSA).

Exigences d'administrateur

Un administrateur :

  • doit avoir au moins 18 ans
  • ne doit pas avoir été déclaré incapable par un tribunal au Canada ou à l'étranger
  • doit être une personne physique (une personne morale ne peut pas être administrateur)
  • ne peut pas avoir le statut de failli.

Résidence canadienne

En règle générale, au moins 25 pour cent des administrateurs d'une société doivent être des résidents canadiens. Si une société compte moins de quatre administrateurs, cependant, au moins l'un d'entre eux doit être un résident canadien. De plus, une société qui exerce ses activités dans un secteur assujetti à des restrictions de propriété (par ex., les sociétés du secteur du transport aérien ou du secteur des télécommunications), une majorité de ses administrateurs doivent être des résidents canadiens. De telles restrictions s'appliquent aussi aux sociétés œuvrant dans certains secteurs culturels, comme la publication, la distribution et la vente de livres, et la distribution de films et de vidéos.

Administrateurs actionnaires

Les membres du conseil d'administration peuvent détenir des actions dans la société où ils occupent un poste d'administrateur. Il n'est toutefois pas nécessaire d'être actionnaire pour occuper un poste au sein du conseil d'administration, à moins de dispositions contraires dans les statuts constitutifs.

Mandat des administrateurs

Les administrateurs peuvent être élus pour un mandat n'excédant pas trois ans. La durée du mandat d'un administrateur peut être indiquée dans les règlements administratifs. Si la durée du mandat n'est pas précisée, les administrateurs demeurent en fonction jusqu'à la prochaine assemblée des actionnaires. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'élire tous les administrateurs au même moment ou pour la même durée. Un administrateur dont le mandat est expiré peut être réélu à ce poste. Les statuts ou les règlements administratifs peuvent limiter le nombre de mandats pour lesquelles les administrateurs peuvent être élus.

S'il est présent à l'assemblée qui l'élit, un administrateur est présumé avoir consenti à occuper ce poste, à moins qu'il ne le refuse. S'il est absent, il doit :

  • soit consentir à son élection, par écrit, dans les 10 jours suivants ou
  • soit agir à titre d'administrateur après l'élection.

Le mandat d'un administrateur prend fin au moment de :

  • sa démission
  • son décès
  • sa disqualification ou sa révocation par les actionnaires.

Vacance au sein du conseil d'administration

Lorsqu'il y a une vacance au sein du conseil d'administration, les membres qui y demeurent peuvent exercer tous les pouvoirs des administrateurs, pourvu que leur nombre constitue un quorum (le nombre minimum d'administrateurs dont la présence est requise à une réunion, précisé dans les règlements administratifs de la société).

En outre, les administrateurs en fonction peuvent nommer un ou plusieurs administrateurs supplémentaires entre les assemblées annuelles, sauf si les statuts constitutifs prévoient qu'une vacance peut être comblée seulement à la suite d'un vote des actionnaires.

Les actionnaires peuvent décider, pour diverses raisons, de révoquer un administrateur qu'ils ont élu. Cette procédure requiert en général l'approbation de la majorité des voix lors d'une assemblée extraordinaire des actionnaires, convoquée aux fins de la révocation de l'administrateur.

Aucuns administrateurs

Si votre société ne compte aucun administrateur, y compris dans le cas où tous les administrateurs ont démissionné ou ont été révoqués sans être remplacés, le paragraphe 212(1) de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA) permet au directeur, Corporations Canada, de dissoudre la société.

Obligations et responsabilités des administrateurs et des dirigeants

En raison de l'étendue des pouvoirs conférés aux administrateurs et aux dirigeants, des obligations et des responsabilités leur sont imposées par la loi. En règle générale, ces obligations et responsabilités sont le reflet de la position de confiance qu'occupent les administrateurs et les dirigeants par rapport à la société et à ses propriétaires, les actionnaires. Bien que la plupart de ces obligations et responsabilités découlent de la LCSA, d'autres :

  • sont établies par d'autres lois fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales, ou
  • sont le produit de la jurisprudence.

Note

Dans certaines situations, les administrateurs peuvent s'appuyer sur les rapports de spécialistes (dont les états financiers et les avis juridiques). Les administrateurs ne seront pas tenus responsables s'ils ont agi avec la diligence et la compétence dont ferait preuve une personne prudente en pareilles circonstances.

Devoir de diligence

En vertu de la LCSA, le devoir de diligence constitue l'un des plus importants devoirs des administrateurs et des dirigeants. Le devoir de diligence signifie que ces derniers, dans leurs fonctions, doivent :

  • exercer, à tout le moins, le degré de diligence qu'une personne raisonnable exercerait dans une situation comparable
  • agir honnêtement, de bonne foi et dans l'intérêt supérieur de la société, plutôt que dans leur intérêt personnel.

Obligation de se tenir informé

Les administrateurs et les dirigeants ne peuvent se soustraire à leurs responsabilités sous prétexte qu'ils ignorent ce que fait la société. La LCSA précise que les administrateurs et les dirigeants doivent toujours, dans les limites de leur pouvoir :

  • se tenir informés à propos des activités de la société;
  • veiller à ce que les activités de la société soient légales et servent au mieux l'intérêt de la société.

Prévention des conflits d'intérêts

La LCSA vise à prévenir les conflits entre les intérêts de la société et ceux des administrateurs et des dirigeants. Par exemple, les administrateurs et les dirigeants doivent divulguer par écrit tout intérêt personnel qu'ils pourraient avoir dans un contrat avec la société. En cas de non-divulgation, un tribunal pourrait invalider ce contrat à la demande de la société ou d'un actionnaire.

Responsabilités particulières

La LCSA impose également certaines responsabilités particulières aux administrateurs et aux dirigeants d'une société. Par exemple, les administrateurs sont responsables, dans certaines circonstances, des salaires impayés des employés de la société, jusqu'à concurrence de six mois de salaire, et de toute retenue à la source impayée.

Mécanismes de protection

En raison des responsabilités conférées aux administrateurs et aux dirigeants de votre société, songez à vous prévaloir de certains mécanismes de protection. Par exemple, votre société peut :

  • prendre une assurance-responsabilité qui couvre les administrateurs et les dirigeants dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions
  • dédommager (ou indemniser) ses administrateurs et ses dirigeants des coûts qu'ils doivent assumer dans certains cas, sauf s'ils n'ont pas agi honnêtement et dans l'intérêt de la société ou
  • avancer des fonds, dans certaines situations, pour permettre aux administrateurs et aux dirigeants de payer les frais liés à leur défense dans le cadre d'une enquête ou d'une poursuite menant à un procès. Prenez note, toutefois, que dans les cas où les administrateurs ou les dirigeants ne réussissent pas à se défendre avec succès, ils doivent rembourser à la société l'avance reçue.

Les administrateurs doivent en tout temps demeurer libres d'évaluer ce qui est dans l'intérêt de la société et de prendre des mesures à la lumière de cette évaluation. C'est pourquoi ils ne peuvent pas préparer entre eux une convention prévoyant la façon dont ils agiront dans une situation donnée.

Cependant, les actionnaires de la société peuvent conclure une convention des actionnaires unanime qui délègue aux actionnaires les responsabilités et les pouvoirs, en tout ou en partie, d'un administrateur en particulier. Le cas échéant, un administrateur ne peut pas être tenu responsable de ne pas exercer un pouvoir qui lui a été retiré.

Réunions du conseil d'administration

Les membres du conseil d'administration de la plupart des sociétés se rencontrent à intervalles réguliers, par exemple sur une base mensuelle, trimestrielle ou annuelle, pour superviser la gestion de la société. Ils peuvent aussi devoir se réunir pour traiter de questions particulières.

Les réunions du conseil d'administration peuvent se tenir au moment et dans le lieu choisis par ses membres, à moins de dispositions contraires dans les règlements administratifs ou les statuts constitutifs. Dans tous les cas, toutefois, le quorum (le nombre minimum d'administrateurs dont la présence est requise à une réunion, précisé dans les règlements administratifs de la société) doit être respecté.

Les administrateurs peuvent diriger les activités de la société en ayant recours à des résolutions écrites au lieu de réunions. Ces résolutions doivent être signées par tous les administrateurs. Ces résolutions signées ont la même valeur que si elles avaient été adoptées au cours d'une réunion du conseil d'administration. Cette façon de procéder peut se révéler très utile lorsqu'une société compte un nombre restreint d'administrateurs.

De plus, si les règlements administratifs le permettent, un membre ou plusieurs membres du conseil d'administration peuvent participer aux réunions entièrement par téléphone ou par voie électronique, pourvu que tous les participants puissent communiquer adéquatement entre eux.

Établir, modifier et annuler des règlements administratifs

Établir les règlements administratifs de la société pour en diriger l'organisation interne est l'une des premières étapes abordées après la création de votre société. À moins que les règlements administratifs de votre société n'en disposent différemment, les administrateurs ont le pouvoir d'adopter, de modifier ou d'annuler les règlements administratifs. Tout nouveau règlement administratif et toute modification à un règlement administratif (incluant l'annulation d'un règlement administratif) requiert l'approbation des actionnaires à la première assemblée des actionnaires qui a lieu après que les administrateurs ont adopté le nouveau règlement administratif ou le règlement administratif modifié. La date d'entrée en vigueur d'un règlement administratif est la date à laquelle ce dernier a été adopté par les administrateurs et non la date d'approbation par les actionnaires.

Nomination des dirigeants

Les dirigeants sont responsables de la gestion des affaires courantes de la société. Les dirigeants sont nommés par les administrateurs. De concert avec les administrateurs, ils forment la direction de la société. Les dirigeants peuvent assumer toute fonction jugée souhaitable par les administrateurs (président, secrétaire, ou toute autre fonction). Toute personne physique peut assumer la fonction de dirigeant au sein de votre société. Les dirigeants peuvent des actionnaires ou des administrateurs de la société. Une personne peut agir à la fois comme administrateur, dirigeant et actionnaire. Dans plusieurs petites entreprises, une seule et même personne exerce ces trois fonctions.

Décisions exigeant l'approbation d'un administrateur

Les actionnaires confient aux administrateurs le soin de conduire les affaires de la société de manière à préserver et à faire fructifier leur investissement.

Les administrateurs sont responsables de la supervision et de la gestion générale des activités de la société. Certaines de leurs décisions nécessitent l'approbation des actionnaires; par contre, d'autres décisions importantes peuvent être prises sans cette approbation. Voici quelques exemples de décisions nécessitant l'approbation des actionnaires et de décisions où elle n'est pas requise :

Exemples de décisions et approbations requises
Décision L'approbation des actionnaires est-elle requise?
Approbation des états financiers Non
Établissement, modification et annulation de règlements administratifs Oui
Émission d'actions Non
Convocation des réunions du conseil d'administration Non
Convocation des assemblées des actionnaires Non
Nomination des dirigeants Non
Modification des statuts Oui
Date de modification :