Not-for-profit corporation by-laws

On this page

Creating by-laws

When incorporating under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act), you have to create by-laws. They set out the rules for governing and operating the corporation. They can be modified at a later date as the needs of the corporation change.

The NFP Act contains default provisions you can choose from. You can also choose alternative provisions or create your own. To get you started, you can print a list of options (of the By-law builder).

You can also use the By-law builder.

Changing by-laws

Soon after incorporation, by-laws stating the rules for governing and operating the corporation should be passed (see Next steps following incorporation). There are two ways of amending by-laws, depending on the subject matter of the changes (see the links below).

By-law amendments requiring ordinary resolutions of the members

By-laws will be changed and updated over time as the needs and the organization of the corporation change. The following are the default steps for approving by-law changes that do not require special member approval (see By-law amendments requiring special resolutions of the members). If you prefer a different process, these steps can be changed in your corporation's articles, in its by-laws or in a unanimous member agreement.

  • Step 1 – The board of directors initiates a change to a general by-law. The effective date of this change is the date it is approved by the directors.
  • Step 2 – The by-law change is placed on the agenda for the next meeting of members.
  • Step 3 – Members confirm the by-law change (or they amend it and then confirm it) by ordinary resolution.
  • Step 4 – If the members reject the by-law adopted by the directors, the by-law change ceases to have effect on the date it is rejected by the members. Alternatively, if the directors fail to submit the by-law change to the members at the next members meeting, the by-law change ceases to have effect on the date of the members meeting at which it should have been submitted to the members. In such cases, future by-law changes that have substantially the same effect as the one rejected or not submitted will not become effective on approval of the directors. They only become come into effect when approved by the members.
  • Step 5 – Within 12 months of the confirmation of the by-law changes by the members, a copy of the amended by-laws must be sent to Corporations Canada.

By-law amendments requiring special resolutions of the members

The following are the steps for approving by-law changes that address certain matters relating to membership in the corporation which require special approval (refer to the paragraph under the steps) by members:

  • Step 1 – Initiate a change to a special by-law by a member proposal or by the board of directors.
  • Step 2 – Members approve the change (or they amend it and then confirm it) by special resolution. If the subject matter of the special by-law amendment addresses exchanging, reclassifying or cancelling all or part of the memberships of a particular class, approval of the special by-law amendment will require a separate class vote (refer to section 199(1) of the NFP Act). In a separate class vote, members of a class who do not otherwise have the right to vote are permitted to vote separately as a class (see Rights and responsibilities of members).
  • Step 3 – The by-law change takes effect, as approved, on the date of the member approval.
  • Step 4 – Within 12 months of the confirmation of the by-law changes by the members, a copy of the amended by-laws must be sent to Corporations Canada.

The subject matter of special by-law amendments relates to (a) conditions required for being a member, (b) the designation of any class or group of members or adding, changing or removing any rights and conditions of any such class or group, (c) dividing any class or group of members into two or more classes or groups and fixing the rights and conditions of each class or group, (d) transfer of memberships, (e) manner of giving notice to members entitled to vote at a meeting of members, (f) method of voting by members not in attendance at a meeting of members (that is, proxy voting), and (g) related definitions and interpretive provisions.

By-laws that do not clearly make the distinction between general and special by-law amendments may mislead the board of directors and create a situation in which the membership adopts ordinary resolutions for all by-law amendments, resulting in by-laws that may not be properly in force with respect to all provisions. This means that any by-laws drafted under the NFP Act should be very clear regarding the amending formula that applies to the various by-law provisions. Here are some options that may be considered to provide clarity:

  • place all by-law provisions that can only be changed by special resolution into one, separate by-law, and leave the remaining provisions in another by-law that requires only an ordinary resolution to amend
  • include all provisions in one general operating by-law, but group the matters requiring a special resolution into one section, so that it is clear that these matters can only be changed by special resolution
  • indicate throughout the by-laws the provisions that require special approval for the provisions to be amended
  • include a requirement in the articles that all by-law changes require a special resolution of members in order to come into effect (see the paragraph below).

Subsection 7(4) allows the articles to require a greater number of votes of directors or members than are required by the NFP Act to effect any action, in which case the articles shall prevail.

Copies of any new by-laws, amendments or repeal of by-laws must be sent to Corporations Canada within 12 months of such changes being confirmed or approved by members. Corporations Canada will not review or approve the new by-laws, but copies will be provided to interested parties upon request.

Date modified:

Règlements administratifs des organisations à but non lucratif

Sur cette page

Créer des règlements administratifs

Lorsque vous vous constituez en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL), vous devez créer des règlements administratifs. Ces derniers établissent les règles de gouvernance et de fonctionnement de l'organisation. Les règlements peuvent être modifiés plus tard pour refléter les besoins changeants de l'organisation.

Vous pouvez choisir parmi les dispositions par défaut contenues dans la Loi BNL. Vous pouvez aussi choisir d'autres dispositions ou encore créer vos propres dispositions. Pour bien commencer, vous pouvez imprimer la liste des options (des règlements administratifs).

Vous pouvez aussi utiliser l'Outil d'élaboration des règlements administratifs.

Modifier des règlements administratifs

Peu après la constitution, il faut adopter les règlements administratifs qui établissent les règles de gouvernance et de fonctionnement de l'organisation (voir Étapes suivant la constitution). Il existe deux processus de modification des règlements, selon la question qui motive le changement (voir les liens ci-dessous).

Modification des règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution ordinaire des membres

Les règlements administratifs seront modifiés et mis à jour selon les besoins et le fonctionnement de l'organisation au fil du temps. Ci-dessous sont les étapes à suivre pour approuver les modifications aux règlements administratifs qui n'exigent pas une résolution extraordinaire des membres (voir Modification des règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire des membres). Si vous préférez suivre des procédures différentes, ces étapes peuvent être remplacées dans les statuts, dans les règlements administratifs de votre organisation ou dans une convention unanime des membres.

  • Étape 1 – Le conseil d'administration présente une modification d'une disposition des règlements administratifs. La date d'entrée en vigueur de cette modification est la date de son approbation par les administrateurs.
  • Étape 2 – La modification aux règlements administratifs est inscrite à l'ordre du jour de la prochaine assemblée des membres.
  • Étape 3 – Les membres confirment la modification apportée aux règlements administratifs (ou ils la modifient et la confirment ensuite) par résolution ordinaire.
  • Étape 4 – Si les membres rejettent la modification aux règlements administratifs adoptée par les administrateurs, la modification aux règlements administratifs cesse d'être en vigueur à la date à laquelle elle est rejetée par les membres. Si les administrateurs ne soumettent pas la modification aux règlements administratifs aux membres à la prochaine assemblée des membres, la modification au règlement cesse d'être en vigueur à la date à laquelle l'assemblée des membres aurait dû être soumise aux membres. Dans de tels cas, les modifications éventuelles aux règlements administratifs, qui ont été soumises et qui ont fondamentalement la même incidence que celles rejetées ou non n'entreront pas en vigueur sur approbation des administrateurs. Elles ne prendront effet que lorsqu'elles seront approuvées par les membres.
  • Étape 5 – Dans les 12 mois suivant la confirmation des changements aux règlements administratifs par les membres, un exemplaire des règlements administratifs modifiés doit être envoyé à Corporations Canada.

Modification des règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire des membres

Voici les étapes à suivre pour approuver les modifications aux règlements administratifs qui traitent de certaines questions relatives à l'adhésion d'une organisation et qui exigent une approbation extraordinaire (référez-vous au paragraphe en-dessous des étapes) des membres :

  • Étape 1 – Présentation d'une proposition d'un membre ou du conseil d'administration pour modifier à une disposition des règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire des membres.
  • Étape 2 – Les membres approuvent la modification (ou ils la modifient et la confirment ensuite) par résolution extraordinaire. Si la nature de la modification aux règlements administratifs traite des questions d'échanger, de reclasser ou d'annuler tout ou une partie des adhésions d'une catégorie particulière, l'approbation de la modification au règlement administratif exigera que les membres d'une catégorie votent séparément (référez-vous au paragraphe 199(1) de la Loi BNL). Dans le cas d'un vote séparé des membres d'une catégorie, les membres d'une catégorie qui n'ont pas autrement droit de voter peuvent le faire séparément en tant que catégorie (voir Droits et responsabilités des membres).
  • Étape 3 – Les modifications aux règlements administratifs entrent en vigueur, telles qu'approuvées, à la date de leur approbation par les membres.
  • Étape 4 – Dans les 12 mois suivant la confirmation des modifications aux règlements administratifs par les membres, un exemplaire des règlements administratifs modifiés doit être envoyé à Corporations Canada.

Les dispositions des règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire des membres pour être modifiées sont (a) les conditions requises pour être membre, (b) la désignation d'une catégorie ou d'un groupe de membres ou à l'ajout, à la modification, ou à la suppression de droits ou de conditions de cette catégorie ou de ce groupe, (c) la division d'une catégorie ou d'un groupe de membres en plusieurs catégories ou groupes et à l'établissement des droits et des conditions de chaque catégorie ou groupe, (d) le transfert de l'adhésion, (e) la façon de donner un avis aux membres ayant droit de voter à une assemblée des membres, (f) au mode de scrutin par les membres absents à l'assemblée des membres (c.-à-d., vote par procuration), et (g) aux définitions connexes et aux dispositions interprétatives.

Les règlements administratifs qui n'indiquent pas clairement la distinction entre les modifications aux règlements administratifs nécessitant une résolution ordinaire et ceux nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire peuvent induire en erreur le conseil d'administration et faire en sorte que les membres adoptent des résolutions ordinaires pour toutes les modifications aux règlements administratifs et que les règlements administratifs ne prennent pas effet en conformité avec toutes les dispositions. Cela signifie que tous les règlements administratifs élaborés en vertu de la Loi BNL doivent être très clairs concernant la formule de modification qui s'applique aux diverses dispositions des règlements administratifs. Voici quelques possibilités à considérer pour en assurer la clarté :

  • regrouper toutes les dispositions des règlements administratifs qui doivent être modifiées par résolution extraordinaire dans un ensemble de règlements administratifs séparés (règlements administratifs extraordinaires) et regrouper les dispositions nécessitant une résolution ordinaire pour être modifiées dans un autre ensemble de règlements administratifs (règlements administratifs généraux)
  • inclure toutes les dispositions dans les règlements administratifs, mais regrouper les questions exigeant une résolution extraordinaire dans une disposition, de telle sorte qu'il soit clair que ces questions ne peuvent être modifiées que par résolution extraordinaire
  • indiquer, tout au long des règlements administratifs, les dispositions nécessitant une résolution extraordinaire pour être modifiées
  • prévoir une exigence dans les statuts indiquant que toutes les modifications aux règlements administratifs requièrent une résolution extraordinaire des membres pour entrer en vigueur (voir le paragraphe ci-dessous).

Le paragraphe 7(4) permet que les statuts exigent un plus grand nombre de votes des administrateurs ou des membres que ce que prévoit la Loi BNL pour l'entrée en vigueur de toute mesure; dans un tel cas, les dispositions des statuts prévalent.

Des exemplaires des nouveaux règlements administratifs, des modifications ou des abrogations des règlements administratifs doivent être envoyés à Corporations Canada dans les 12 mois suivant les modifications, la confirmation ou l'approbation par les membres. Corporations Canada ne procédera pas à l'examen ni à l'approbation des nouveaux règlements administratifs, mais il les mettra à la disposition du public qui pourra les consulter.

Date de modification :