Language selection

Search

Overview of exemption policies – Canada Business Corporations Act

Table of contents

  1. Background
  2. CBCA exemption policies by subject matter
  3. CBCA exemptions without policies
  4. Single filing exemption
  5. The exemption application

1. Background

The Canada Business Corporations Act ("CBCA") provides companies or individuals with relief from some of its requirements through a series of specific exemptions. Corporations or individuals must apply to the Director appointed under the CBCA (the “Director”) for these exemptions. To help with this process, policies were developed for some of the exemptions. These policies are intended to meet client needs for information concerning exemption applications. They were conceived as part of a plan to reduce the effort of all parties involved with exemption applications and to explain what the Director and staff consider when deciding whether to grant an exemption.

Policies have not been prepared for exemptions that are rarely sought.

2. CBCA exemption policies by subject matter

3. CBCA exemptions without policies

Policies have not been prepared for the following two exemptions as they are rarely sought.

i) Name of Corporation (exemption only from inclusion of a legal element)

Subsection 10(2) permits the Director to exempt a corporation continuing under the CBCA from the requirements of subsection 10(1): that the name of the corporation include the word or expression "Limited", "Limitée", "Incorporated", "Incorporée", "Corporation", "Société par actions de régime fédéral" or its corresponding abbreviation. There is no policy for this type of exemption as it has been rarely sought. Most exemptions have been granted to corporations incorporated under Special Acts when they were continuing under the CBCA and whose name was already well-known to the Canadian public, for example "Bell Canada".

ii) Where continued reference to par value shares permissible

Where the Director determines, on the application of an importing body corporate, that it is not practicable to change a reference to the nominal or par value of shares of a class or series that the body corporate was authorized to issue before it was continued under the CBCA, subsection 187(11) states that the Director may permit the corporation to refer in its articles to those shares, whether issued or unissued, as shares having a nominal or par value. No policy is available as this exemption is rarely requested.

4. Single Filing Exemption

Section 258.2 gives the Director authority to make a blanket exemption for notices or documents required to be sent to the Director where the information contained in the notice or document is similar to that required to be made public pursuant to another act of Parliament or of a legislature that the Director specifies.

Pursuant to this authority, the Director has issued the Single Filing Exemption (see Exemption from the filing of certain documents) providing that proxy materials and financial statements required to be filed with the Director pursuant to sections 150 and 160 of the CBCA, need not be filed if documents containing similar information have been filed with any of the participating provincial and territorial securities commissions. Corporations do not need to notify the Director in order to rely on this exemption.

5. The exemption application

  1. Format: Along with a cover letter indicating the applicant and the name of the corporation (if different from the applicant), the application must provide information under three distinct headings: description and details of the exemption sought; statement of facts, and argument. The policies provide assistance in drafting these applications.

    The Director recognizes that in some cases applicants may also be making similar representations under various provincial securities acts. The Director will accept an application made under any provincial securities act provided it contains all relevant information or additional information is attached so as to comply with CBCA requirements. Note, however, that provincial legislation may provide confidentiality protections that do not exist under the CBCA.
  2. The documents: Detailed below is a brief description of the three major documents that comprise the submission.
    1. Description and details of the exemption sought: The application must describe the exemption sought and note that it is an application for an exemption under the relevant section of the Canada Business Corporations Act.
    2. Statement of facts: Information varies depending on the type of exemption sought. The applicant must provide all material facts about the application and describe the circumstances to the degree necessary to allow the Director to make an informed decision on the request.
    3. Argument: Following the circumstances described, arguments must explain why an exemption is required and, when appropriate, why receiving an exemption would not be prejudicial to the interests of security holders or the public interest. Additional details are provided in the specific policies.
  3. Effective date of exemption: Exemptions take effect on the date of approval of the application.
  4. Duration: This varies with the type of exemption sought. Additional details are found in the specific policies.
  5. Revocation: Exemptions are only revoked if the facts change and the resulting circumstances dictate that the corporation should no longer be exempt from the particular requirement. Appropriate notice will be provided to ensure the applicant can contest the decision to revoke an exemption decision.
  6. Retrospective or retroactive effect: While the Act may permit exemptions to be granted that have retrospective or retroactive effect, it is the policy to grant these only when there are valid reasons. Retrospective or retroactive exemptions will only be considered in situations where the investing public would not be prejudiced and where the corporation would otherwise be prejudiced. Requests for retrospective or retroactive exemptions will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
  7. Fees: See Services, fees and processing times.
  8. Number of copies: Only one set of documents is required.
  9. Processing of application: Section 90 of the Regulations provides the Director 30 days after receipt of an application for an exemption to either grant or refuse the application. If the application contains the necessary information, an exemption is usually issued no later than 15 working days after receipt of the application.
  10. Urgent cases: An applicant requiring that the Director review the application on an expedited basis should bring the request immediately to the attention of the Director's staff, providing reasons for the urgency.
  11. Publication: Issued exemptions are published monthly under the heading "Corporations Canada Monthly Transactions" on its website.
  12. Appeal of Director's decision: A person who feels aggrieved by a decision of the Director to refuse to grant an exemption may apply to a court for an order requiring the Director to change the decision, and on such application, the court may so order and make any further order it thinks fit.
  13. Access to exemption information filed: Pursuant to section 266 of the CBCA, a person who has paid the required fee is entitled to examine, make copies or extracts of any document required by the Act to be sent to the Director. The information filed with the Director in support of an exemption application is not confidential. Such information is required to be filed in order to obtain an exemption and must therefore be made available to the public.
Date modified:

Aperçu des politiques sur les dispenses – Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Politiques de dispenses de la LCSA par objet
  3. Dispenses de la LCSA sans politiques
  4. Dispense de déposer certains documents
  5. La demande de dispense

1. Contexte

La Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (« LCSA ») permet aux sociétés et aux particuliers de se soustraire à quelques-unes de ses exigences au moyen d'une série de dispenses spécifiques. Pour bénéficier de ces dispenses, les sociétés ou les particuliers doivent présenter une demande au directeur nommé en vertu de la LCSA (le « directeur ») . Afin d’aider avec cette procédure, des politiques ont été préparées pour quelques dispenses. Les politiques disponibles visent à fournir les renseignements dont les clients ont besoin au sujet des demandes de dispense. Ils ont été conçus dans le but de simplifier la tâche de toutes les parties visées par les demandes de dispense et d'expliquer les facteurs dont le directeur et le personnel tiennent compte pour accorder ou non une dispense.

Aucune politique n'a été préparée dans le cas des dispenses qui sont rarement demandées.

2. Politiques de dispenses de la LCSA par objet

3. Dispenses de la LCSA sans politiques

Aucune politique n'a été préparée pour les deux dispenses suivantes parce qu’elles sont rarement demandées.

i) Dénomination sociale (dispense de l’inclusion d’un élément légal seulement):

Le paragraphe 10(2) autorise le directeur à dispenser toute personne morale prorogée sous forme de société régie par la LCSA de l'application du paragraphe 10(1), selon lequel les mots ou expressions « Limitée », « Limited », « Incorporée », « Incorporated », « Société par actions de régime fédéral », « Corporation » ou les abréviations correspondantes doivent faire partie de la dénomination sociale. Étant donné que cette dispense est rarement demandée, il n'existe aucune politique à ce sujet. La plupart des dispenses demandées ont été accordées aux sociétés qui ont été constituées sous le régime de lois spéciales et prorogées sous forme de sociétés régies par la LCSA et dont le nom était déjà bien connu du public canadien, par exemple, « Bell Canada ».

ii) Autorisation des mentions relatives à la valeur nominale ou au pair :
Au cas où le directeur saisi de la demande d'une personne morale décide qu'il n'y a pas lieu de supprimer la référence aux actions à valeur nominale ou au pair d'une catégorie ou d'une série qu'elle était autorisée à émettre avant sa prorogation en vertu de la LCSA, il peut, en vertu du paragraphe 187(11), autoriser la personne morale à maintenir dans ses statuts la désignation de ces actions, même non encore émises, comme actions à valeur nominale ou au pair étant donné que cette dispense est rarement demandée, aucune politique n’est disponible à ce sujet.

4. Dispense de déposer certains documents

L'article 258.2 de la LCSA autorise le directeur à accorder une dispense générale relativement aux avis et autres documents qui doivent lui être envoyés si les renseignements y figurant sont semblables à ceux qui sont contenus dans des documents devant être rendus publics aux termes d'une autre loi fédérale ou d'une loi provinciale qu'il précise.

En vertu de ce pouvoir, le directeur a publié la dispense de déposer certains documents (voir Dispense de déposer certains documents) qui prévoit que les dépôts des procurations et des états financiers qui doivent être faits auprès du directeur conformément aux articles 150 et 160 de la LCSA ne sont pas requis lorsque des documents contenant les mêmes renseignements ont déjà été déposés auprès d'une commission de valeurs mobilières provinciale ou territoriale participante. Les sociétés n'ont pas à aviser le directeur de leur intention d'utiliser cette dispense.

5. La demande de dispense

  1. Format de la demande : La demande doit être accompagnée d'une lettre indiquant le demandeur ou la dénomination sociale de la société (si elle diffère du demandeur). La demande doit aussi comprendre les renseignements qui sont décrits dans les trois rubriques suivantes : description et détails de la dispense demandée, exposé des faits et exposé des motifs. La politique vise à faciliter la préparation de ces demandes.

    Le directeur reconnaît que, dans certains cas, les demandeurs peuvent présenter des demandes semblables sous le régime de différentes lois provinciales touchant les valeurs mobilières. Le directeur acceptera une demande de cette nature pourvu qu'elle renferme tous les renseignements pertinents ou que les renseignements supplémentaires exigés conformément à la LCSA soient joints. Il convient toutefois de signaler que les lois provinciales peuvent prévoir, en matière de confidentialité, une protection qui n'existe pas en vertu de la LCSA.
  2. Les documents : Voici une courte description des trois principaux documents à fournir :
    1. Description et détails de la dispense demandée : La demande doit comporter une description de la dispense demandée et une mention de la disposition de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 44, visée par la demande.
    2. Exposé des faits : Les renseignements varient en fonction du type de dispense demandée. Le demandeur doit indiquer tous les faits pertinents à la demande et donner au directeur une description assez détaillée de la situation pour lui permettre de prendre une décision éclairée quant à la demande.
    3. Exposé des motifs : Après avoir exposé les faits, le demandeur doit expliquer pourquoi une dispense est demandée et, s'il y a lieu, en quoi elle ne serait pas préjudiciable aux détenteurs de valeurs mobilières ni à l'intérêt public. Des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet figurent dans les politiques.
  3. Date d'entrée en vigueur de la dispense : La dispense entre en vigueur à la date d'approbation de la demande.
  4. Durée : La durée varie en fonction du type de dispense demandée. Des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet figurent dans les politiques.
  5. Révocation : Les dispenses ne sont révoquées que lorsque la situation évolue de telle sorte que la société ne devrait plus bénéficier d'une dispense à l'égard de l'exigence concernée. Un avis approprié sera remis au demandeur pour lui permettre de contester la révocation.
  6. Effet rétrospectif ou rétroactif : Même si la Loi permet dans certains cas que la dispense ait un effet rétrospectif ou rétroactif, des dispenses de cette nature ne sont accordées que lorsqu’elles reposent sur des motifs valables, notamment s’il est établi que le public investisseur ne subira aucun préjudice et que dans le cas contraire, la société subira un préjudice. Les demandes de dispense rétrospective ou rétroactive sont examinées au cas par cas.
  7. Droits : Voir Services, frais et délais d’exécution – Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions.
  8. Nombre de copies : Un seul ensemble de documents doit être déposé.
  9. Traitement de la demande : L'article 90 du Règlement prévoit que le directeur dispose d'un délai de 30 jours suivant la réception de la demande pour accorder ou refuser la dispense. Si la demande renferme les renseignements nécessaires, la dispense est habituellement accordée au plus tard 15 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la demande.
  10. Cas urgents : Le demandeur qui désire que le directeur examine sa demande de façon accélérée doit la soumettre sans délai à l'attention du personnel du directeur en lui expliquant la nature de l'urgence.
  11. Publication : Les dispenses qui sont accordées sont publiées mensuellement sur le site Internet de Corporations Canada sous la rubrique « Transactions mensuelles de Corporations Canada ».
  12. Appel de la décision du directeur :Toute personne qui estime avoir subi un préjudice en raison de la décision du directeur de refuser une dispense peut demander au tribunal de rendre une ordonnance enjoignant au directeur de modifier la décision et le tribunal peut, par ordonnance, prendre les mesures qu'il estime pertinentes.
  13. Accès aux renseignements contenus dans la demande : En vertu de l'article 266 de la LCSA, il est possible, sur le paiement des droits prescrits, de consulter les documents dont l'envoi au directeur est requis par la LCSA et d'en prendre des copies ou des extraits. Les renseignements fournis au directeur dans le cadre d'une demande de dispense ne sont pas confidentiels. Ils doivent être produits afin d'obtenir la dispense et ils doivent donc être accessibles au public.
Date de modification :