Highlights
Insolvency Statistics in Canada — November 2011

The total number of insolvencies (bankruptcies and proposals) in Canada increased by 8.7 percent in November 2011 from the previous monthFootnote r. Bankruptcies increased by 5.7 percent, whereas proposals increased by 13.9 percent.

The total number of insolvencies in November 2011 was 9.3 percent lower than the total number of insolvencies in November 2010. Consumer insolvencies have decreased by 9.5 percent, while business insolvencies have decreased by 2.8 percent.

For the 12-month period ending November 30, 2011, the total number of insolvencies decreased by 8.9 percent compared with the 12-month period ending November 30, 2010.

Consumer insolvencies for the 12-month period ending November 30, 2011, decreased by 8.9 percent compared with the 12-month period ending November 30, 2010. Consumer bankruptcies decreased by 15.8 percent, while consumer proposals increased by 6.4 percent. The proportion of proposals in consumer insolvencies increased to 36.2 percent during the 12-month period ending November 30, 2011, up from 31.0 percent during the 12-month period ending November 30, 2010. For the 12-month period ending November 30, 2011, 96.2 percent of total insolvencies were filed by consumers.

Business insolvencies for the 12-month period ending November 30, 2011, fell by 8.0 percent compared with the 12-month period ending November 30, 2010. The three sectors that registered the biggest decrease in the number of insolvencies were transportation and warehousing; retail trade; and construction.

As of February 3, 2012, three Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA) proceedings initiated in November 2011 were filed with the OSB. Please refer to the CCAA records for additional details. Note: The Insolvency Statistics in Canada – November 2011 report, which pertains to bankruptcies and proposals filed under the BIA, does not include CCAA filings.

Read the report Insolvency Statistics in Canada – November 2011.


Footnotes

  • r Please note that the Insolvency Statistics in Canada – October 2011 report was revised on January 19, 2012, due to an error in the total volume of business proposals in October 2011.

Points saillants
Statistiques sur l'insolvabilité au Canada — Novembre 2011

Le nombre total de dossiers d'insolvabilité (faillites et propositions) au Canada a augmenté de 8,7 % en novembre 2011 par rapport au mois précédentFootnote r. Le nombre de faillites a enregistré une hausse de 5,7 % et le nombre de propositions s'est accru de 13,9 %.

Le nombre total de dossiers d'insolvabilité déposés en novembre 2011 a diminué de 9,3 % par rapport à novembre 2010. Le nombre de dossiers de consommateurs a reculé de 9,5 %, tandis que le nombre de dossiers d'entreprises a connu une baisse de 2,8 %.

Au cours de la période de 12 mois qui a pris fin le 30 novembre 2011, le nombre total de dossiers d'insolvabilité a diminué de 8,9 % par rapport à la période correspondante terminée le 30 novembre 2010.

Au cours de la période de 12 mois qui a pris fin le 30 novembre 2011, le nombre de dossiers d'insolvabilité de consommateurs a diminué de 8,9 % par rapport à la période correspondante terminée le 30 novembre 2010. Les faillites de consommateur ont reculé de 15,8 %, tandis que les propositions de consommateur ont connu une hausse de 6,4 %. Au cours de la même période, la proportion de consommateurs insolvables ayant opté pour une proposition a augmenté pour atteindre 36,2 %, comparativement à 31,0 % pour la période de 12 mois terminée le 30 novembre 2010. Par ailleurs, 96,2 % de l'ensemble des dossiers d'insolvabilité ont été déposés par des consommateurs au cours de la période de 12 mois qui a pris fin le 30 novembre 2011.

Au cours de la période de 12 mois qui a pris fin le 30 novembre 2011, le nombre de dossiers d'insolvabilité d'entreprises a reculé de 8,0 % par rapport à la période correspondante terminée le 30 novembre 2010. Les trois secteurs ayant enregistré la baisse la plus marquée sont ceux du transport et de l'entreposage, du commerce de détail et de la construction.

Trois procédures amorcées en novembre 2011 sous le régime de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies (LACC) avaient été déposées auprès du BSF au 3 février 2012. Veuillez consulter le Registre de la LACC pour obtenir plus de détails. Remarque : Le rapport intitulé Statistiques sur l'insolvabilité au Canada – Novembre 2011, qui fait état des faillites et des propositions déposées en vertu de la LFI, ne comprend pas les procédures déposées sous le régime de la LACC.

Consultez le rapport intitulé Statistiques sur l'insolvabilité au Canada – Novembre 2011.


Footnotes

  • r Veuillez noter que le rapport intitulé Statistiques sur l’insolvabilité au Canada – Octobre 2011 a été modifié le 19 janvier 2011 en raison d’une erreur dans le nombre total de propositions d’entreprise en octobre 2011.