Directive No. 19R

Reporting of Receipts Resulting from the Realization of Certain Assets in Summary Administrations

PDF version

Directive No. 19R

199 KB, 7 pages

Date:

Directive No. 19, Reporting of Receipts Resulting from the Realization of Certain Assets in Summary Administrations, has been revised to eliminate any confusion that may result from the wording of paragraph 6 of this Directive in light of subsection 128(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules (the Rules).

According to subsection 128(1) of the Rules, the trustee's fees for services performed in a summary administration are calculated on the total receipts remaining after "deducting" necessary disbursements relating directly to the realization of the property of the bankrupt. The wording of paragraph 6 of the Directive indicates that the costs of disposition of these assets should be "absorbed" in the disbursement provision under the tariff. This wording has been revised to clarify that the costs of disposition of these assets are to be deducted from the gross proceeds from the sale of these assets.

Enquiries

If you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the OSB office nearest you.

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Issued:

(Supersedes Directive No. 19 issued on , on the same topic)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "OSB" means the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "Rules" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules.

Authority and Purpose

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to the authority of paragraphs 5(4)(b) and (c) of the Act.
  2. The purpose of this Directive is to clarify the method by which receipts are to be reported in the realization of certain assets in summary administration bankruptcies.
  3. The specific assets that require clarification are the following:
    • (a) vehicles and other personal property and movables;
    • (b) Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs);
    • (c) other trust claims; and
    • (d) real property or immovables.

Vehicles and Other Personal Property and Movables

  1. The gross proceeds from the sale of these assets, whether by auction or private sale, are to be included as total receipts as itemized under the tariff.
  2. It is recognized that there will be costs associated with the disposition of vehicles and other personal property and movables. The costs of disposition of these assets are to be deducted from the gross proceeds from the sale of these assets in accordance with Rule 128(1).

Registered Retirement Savings Plans

  1. (1) Under section 67 of the Act, amounts held in RRSPs are exempt from seizure in bankruptcy, subject to a possible clawback for contributions made in the 12 months preceding bankruptcy that will comprise property of the bankrupt's estate. Where provincial legislation exempts RRSPs from execution, the provincial legislation will apply. Where provincial legislation is silent regarding the treatment of RRSPs, they will be exempt subject to the clawback referred to above.

    (2) For those amounts that are not exempt, the plan issuer (trust company, chartered bank, etc.) would, upon termination, hold the moneys in trust for the bankrupt and the Canada Revenue Agency with respect to withholding tax.

  2. The trustee may realize only the residual trust funds received from the plan issuer in respect of the deregistration of an RRSP after income tax considerations. Therefore, only the amount received by the estate, net of tax liability, should be recorded in the Statement of Receipts and Disbursements for tariff purposes.

Other Trust Claims

  1. With respect to trust claims of the Crown or others, when the trustee receives funds from the sale of assets that are subsequently determined to be trust moneys, these proceeds do not represent receipts in the estate. The trustee would hold these funds in trust for the eventual trust beneficiary subject to the Directive concerning administrative agreements with trustees and receivers.
  2. The receipts and disbursements relating to a trust claim should be disclosed by way of a footnote or otherwise on the Statement of Receipts and Disbursements.

Real Property or Immovables

  1. In the case of real property or immovables, if there is expected material equity for the estate, the associated legal problems on the disposition of real property or immovables may warrant that any summary administration estate containing equity in real property or immovables should be converted to an ordinary administration.
  2. With respect to situations where it is apparent that the estate has no or minimal equity in the real property or immovables of the bankrupt, all legal costs with respect to the preparation of the quit claim documentation should be borne by the purchaser, who is the eventual beneficiary of the real estate.

Reimbursement of Costs by a Secured Creditor

  1. If the trustee is reimbursed by a secured creditor for costs incurred for the safekeeping of encumbered assets for which the estate has no interest, these receipts can be offset against the actual costs involved.

Coming into Force

  1. This Directive comes into force on .

Enquiries

  1. For any questions pertaining to this Directive, please contact your local OSB office.

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 19R

Déclaration des recettes résultant de la réalisation des biens en cas d’administration sommaire

Version PDF

Instruction No 19R

199 Ko, 7 pages

Date :

L'instruction no 19, Déclaration des recettes résultant de la réalisation des biens en cas d'administration sommaire, a été révisée en vue d'éliminer toute confusion pouvant découler du libellé de l'article 6 de cette instruction, compte tenu du paragraphe 128(1) des Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (les Règles).

Aux termes du paragraphe 128(1) des Règles, les honoraires du syndic pour les services fournis dans le cas d'une administration sommaire sont calculés sur le total des recettes après « déduction » des débours nécessaires directement liés à la réalisation des biens du failli. Le libellé de l'article 6 de l'instruction indique que les frais engagés au titre de la vente de ces actifs devraient être « absorbés » à l'intérieur du montant de déboursés compris dans le tarif. Le libellé a été modifié afin de préciser que les frais engagés au titre de la vente de ces actifs doivent être déduits des montants bruts découlant de cette vente.

Demandes de renseignements

Si vous désirez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites


Date d'émission :

(La présente instruction remplace et annule l'instruction no 19 sur le même sujet émise le .)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction :
    • « BSF » désigne le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « Loi » renvoie à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « Règles » s'entend des Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Autorité et objet

  1. La présente instruction est émise en vertu de l'autorité conférée par les alinéas 5(4)b) et c) de la Loi.
  2. La présente instruction a pour objet de préciser la méthode qui doit être utilisée pour déclarer les recettes lors de la réalisation de certains biens d'un failli dans les cas d'administration sommaire.
  3. Les biens qui demandent une clarification sont les suivants :
    • a) véhicules, meubles et autres biens personnels;
    • b) régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite (REER);
    • c) réclamations sur des biens détenus en fidéicommis; et
    • d) immeubles ou biens réels.

Véhicules, meubles et autres biens personnels

  1. Les montants bruts découlant de la vente de ces actifs, par vente aux enchères ou vente privée, doivent être inclus dans les recettes totales spécifiées en vertu du tarif.
  2. Il est admis que la vente des véhicules, meubles et autres biens personnels entraînera des frais. Les frais engagés au titre de la vente de ces actifs seront déduits des montants bruts découlant de la vente de ces actifs, conformément au paragraphe 128(1) des Règles.

Régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite

  1. (1) En vertu de l'article 67 de la Loi, les REER immobilisés sont insaisissables lors d'une faillite, mais les contributions effectuées durant l'année précédant la faillite sont saisissables et font partie de l'actif du failli. Là où la législation provinciale exempte les REER de la saisie, la législation provinciale s'appliquera. Là où la législation provinciale est silencieuse concernant le traitement des REER, ils seront insaisissables sauf pour les contributions effectuées durant l'année précédant la faillite.

    (2) L'établissement qui propose le régime (société de fiducie, banque à charte, etc.) garde l'argent en dépôt pour le failli et pour l'Agence du revenu du Canada en ce qui concerne les retenues d'impôt.

  2. Le syndic ne peut percevoir que le résidu des fonds en fidéicommis après déduction d'impôt, suite à l'annulation du REER. Le syndic devra, pour fins de calcul du tarif, ne tenir compte que du montant net après impôt reçu par l'actif et inscrire ce montant dans l'état des recettes et des débours.

Autres réclamations sur des biens détenus en fidéicommis

  1. Lorsque le syndic reçoit des fonds qui découlent de la vente de biens qui sont par la suite considérés comme des sommes en fiducie, ces fonds ne constituent pas des recettes de l'actif. Le syndic gardera ces fonds en dépôt pour l'éventuel bénéficiaire des sommes ainsi déposées en fiducie sous réserve de l'instruction qui traite de l'entente administrative avec les syndics et les séquestres.
  2. Toutefois, les recettes et les débours devraient être divulgués au moyen d'une annotation ou autrement à l'état des recettes et des débours.

Immeubles ou biens réels

  1. Pour les immeubles ou biens réels, si l'on prévoit une valeur résiduelle appréciable de l'actif, les problèmes juridiques associés à la vente desdits immeubles ou biens réels peuvent justifier que toute administration sommaire comprenant une valeur résiduelle relativement à des immeubles ou biens réels soit convertie en administration ordinaire.
  2. Dans les situations où il est évident que l'actif constitué d'immeubles ou biens réels aura peu ou pas de valeur résiduelle, tous les frais juridiques concernant l'établissement des documents de l'avis de renonciation devraient être payés par l'acquéreur qui est l'éventuel bénéficiaire des biens immobiliers.

Remboursement de frais par un créancier garanti

  1. Lorsque le syndic est remboursé par un créancier garanti pour les frais encourus pour la garde de biens nantis pour lesquels l'actif n'a aucun intérêt, le syndic peut faire compensation entre les coûts réels et le remboursement.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 23 avril 2010.

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Pour toute question se rapportant à la présente instruction, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites

Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :