Directive No. 25

PDF version

Directive No. 25

2.1 MB, 5 pages

Realization of Estate Assets

Issued: August 14, 2009

(Supersedes Directive No. 22 issued on July 23, 1993, on the same topic)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "OSB" means the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "Rules" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules.

Authority and Purpose

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to the authority of paragraphs 5(4)(b) and (c) of the Act.
  2. The purpose of this Directive is to outline the position of the Superintendent with regard to realization of estate assets.

Policy

  1. Except for property held in trust by the bankrupt or property exempt from execution or seizure, all property of the bankrupt, wherever situated at the date of bankruptcy or that may be acquired by or devolve on him or her before the discharge, is available for the creditors within the meaning of section 67 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. The trustee must therefore take possession of the assets and realize upon them for the benefit of the estate unless:
    1. the asset is specifically exempt from seizure or execution under the law;
    2. a specific applicable jurisprudence renders the asset exempt;
    3. a specific order has been obtained from the Court to exempt the asset; or
    4. in the opinion of the trustee, there would be no financial benefit to the estate as the cost of realization would exceed or equal the realizable value of the asset. In such a case, a document of explanation should be kept in the estate file.
  2. The onus of having an asset declared exempt from execution lies with the bankrupt, at the bankrupt's own expense, and not at the expense of the estate.

Realization of Assets

  1. The following are examples of minimum requirements in the realization of certain assets by trustees. This list is not exhaustive as there are many other types of assets to be realized in the administration of estates, some of which are already covered under other directives (i.e. surplus income, tax refunds, etc.).
    1. Motor Vehicle

      Although exemption provisions vary from one province to another, the fundamental principles are the same: unless exempted by the applicable legislation or applicable jurisprudence, a motor vehicle constitutes an asset of the estate and there is a statutory obligation on the part of the trustee to realize the asset.

      If expedient, a trustee may choose to sell the motor vehicle back to the bankrupt. Before doing so, the trustee must obtain the consent of the inspectors and/or the creditors and document the file on the method by which the value of the vehicle was obtained (e.g. written appraisal, black book or other source).

      Any payment for the motor vehicle made by the bankrupt to the estate shall not be considered as part of the payments from surplus income but rather from that portion of the bankrupt's income that he or she is entitled to retain.

    2. Life Insurance

      Although insurance legislation varies from one province to another, generally the trustee in bankruptcy is entitled to realize the proceeds of a life insurance policy if payable to the estate of the bankrupt.

      If a life insurance policy exists, as a minimum, the trustee must examine the bankrupt's life insurance policy, which may include a request to the insurance company for a written statement on the status of the policy to ensure that all moneys available for distribution to the creditors are paid to the estate.

    3. Registered Retirement Savings Plan

      Under section 67 of the Act, amounts held in RRSPs are exempt from seizure in bankruptcy, subject to a possible clawback for contributions made in the 12 months preceding bankruptcy that will comprise property of the bankrupt's estate. Where provincial legislation exempts RRSPs from execution, the provincial legislation will apply. Where provincial legislation is silent regarding the treatment of RRSPs, they will be exempt subject to the clawback referred to above.

Supporting Documents

  1. As it is a statutory obligation on the part of a trustee to realize on all assets for the benefit of the estate, it is therefore expected that a trustee will document the files as much as possible in support of the receipts, disbursements and actions taken on all the transactions. The official receiver may, at his or her discretion, request from the trustee a copy of that documentation.

Coming into Force

  1. This Directive comes into force on September 18, 2009.
  2. For any questions pertaining to this Directive, please contact your local OSB office.

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 25

Version PDF

Instruction No 25

2,1 Mo, 8 pages

Réalisation des biens de l'actif

Date d'émission : le 14 août 2009

(La présente instruction remplace et annule l'instruction no 22 sur le même sujet émise le 23 juillet 1993.)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction :
    • « BSF » désigne le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « Loi » désigne la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.
    • « Règles » s'entend des Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Autorité et objet

  1. La présente instruction est émise en vertu de l'autorité conférée par les alinéas 5(4)b) et c) de la Loi.
  2. La présente instruction a pour objet d'exposer la position du surintendant concernant la réalisation des biens de l'actif.

Politique

  1. Au sens de l'article 67 de la Loi, tous les biens, où qu'ils soient situés, qui appartiennent au failli à la date de la faillite, ou qu'il peut acquérir ou qui peuvent lui avoir été dévolus avant sa libération, constituent le patrimoine attribué à ses créanciers, à l'exception des biens détenus en fiducie par le failli ou des biens exempts d'exécution ou de saisie. Par conséquent, le syndic doit prendre possession des biens de l'actif et les réaliser pour le bénéfice de la masse des créanciers à moins que :
    1. l'actif ne soit expressément exempt d'exécution ou de saisie en vertu des lois;
    2. la jurisprudence expressément applicable ne rende l'actif exempt;
    3. une ordonnance précise n'ait été obtenue du tribunal, rendant l'actif insaisissable; ou
    4. selon l'opinion du syndic, il n'y ait pas d'avantage financier pour l'actif car le coût de réalisation serait égal ou supérieur à la valeur réalisable de l'actif. Dans ce cas, un document explicatif devrait être gardé au dossier de l'actif.
  2. La responsabilité de faire déclarer un bien insaisissable incombe au failli, qui doit le faire à ses frais et non pas à ceux de l'actif.

Réalisation des biens de l'actif

  1. La liste suivante comprend des exemples d'exigences minimales requises par le syndic dans le cadre de la réalisation de certains actifs. Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive, car il existe plusieurs autres genres d'actifs à être réalisés dans l'administration de dossiers, dont certains sont déjà couverts par d'autres instructions (p. ex., revenu excédentaire et remboursement d'impôt).
    1. Véhicule à moteur

      Bien que les modalités d'insaisissabilité varient d'une province à l'autre, les principes fondamentaux sont les mêmes : à moins d'être déclaré insaisissable par la loi ou la jurisprudence pertinente, un véhicule à moteur constitue un bien de l'actif et le syndic a l'obligation statutaire de le réaliser.

      Lorsqu'un syndic le juge à propos, il peut choisir de vendre le véhicule à moteur au failli. Cependant, il doit obtenir, au préalable, le consentement des inspecteurs ou des créanciers et documenter son dossier sur la méthode par laquelle la valeur du véhicule a été déterminée (p. ex., évaluation écrite, livre noir ou autre source).

      Tout paiement fait à l'actif par le failli pour le véhicule à moteur ne doit pas provenir du revenu excédentaire du failli mais de la portion du revenu qu'il peut conserver.

    2. Assurance-vie

      Bien que la législation sur les assurances varie d'une province à l'autre, en général, le syndic a le droit de réaliser le produit de la police d'assurance-vie si celle-ci est payable à la succession du failli.

      Lorsqu'il y a une police d'assurance-vie, le syndic doit, comme mesure minimale, examiner la police d'assurance-vie du failli, ce qui pourrait inclure une demande à la compagnie d'assurance pour une confirmation écrite du statut de la police d'assurance-vie afin de s'assurer que les sommes disponibles pour distribution aux créanciers sont payées au syndic pour le compte de l'actif.

    3. Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite

      En vertu de l'article 67 de la Loi, les régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite (REER) immobilisés sont insaisissables lors d'une faillite, mais les contributions effectuées durant l'année précédant la faillite sont saisissables et font partie de l'actif du failli. Là où la législation provinciale exempte les REER de la saisie, la législation provinciale s'appliquera. Là où la législation provinciale est silencieuse concernant le traitement des REER, ceux-ci seront insaisissables sauf pour les contributions effectuées durant l'année précédant la faillite.

Pièces justificatives

  1. Étant donné que le syndic a l'obligation statutaire de réaliser tous les biens de l'actif pour le bénéfice des créanciers, il importe que le syndic justifie, autant que possible, toutes ses transactions quant aux recettes, déboursés et actions prises. Le séquestre officiel, lorsqu'il le juge à propos, peut demander au syndic de lui fournir une copie de ces documents.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009.

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Pour toute question se rapportant à la présente instruction, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites


Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :