Directive No. 18
Coming into force September 18, 2009

Unclaimed Dividends and Undistributed Funds

PDF version

Directive No. 18

1.9 MB, 5 pages

Issued:

(Supersedes Directive No. 8 issued on , on the same topic)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "OSB" means the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "Rules" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules.

Authority and Purpose

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to the authority of paragraphs 5(4)(b) and (c) of the Act.
  2. The purpose of this Directive is twofold:
    • (a) to minimize the amount of unclaimed dividends and undistributed funds in order to maximize dividends to creditors; and
    • (b) to reduce the number of unnecessary requests to the OSB for the return to creditors of money remitted as unclaimed dividends and undistributed funds.

Unclaimed Dividends

  1. Trustees, when proceeding to the discharge phase of their administration in those estates where a dividend will be payable, should:
    • (a) in a case of an ordinary administration, apply for a discharge hearing date that will allow a longer period of time for the cashing of cheques, hence reducing the number of returned cheques as a result of a stop-payment or closed account. It is suggested that this period should be 45 to 60 days after the mailing of the cheques to allow for most, if not all, of the outstanding cheques to be cashed. This becomes particularly important for those creditors from outside Canada. In the case of a summary administration, the sending of the certificate of compliance should be delayed by the same amount of time.
    • (b) make a reasonable effort to trace the current address for the local financial institutions or nationally known businesses (or those that have local branches) whose notice of trustee discharge or cheque has been returned by the postal services in order to forward the cheque to the proper address;
    • (c) include any reference account number found on the proof of claim or support document to facilitate the tracing by the receiving firm; and
    • (d) upon expiration of the above period and before proceeding to their discharge, trustees must, in conformity with subsection 154(1) of the Act, forward to the Superintendent all outstanding dividends remaining in their account.

Undistributed Funds

  1. Trustees are encouraged to distribute all available funds to the creditors instead of remitting them as undistributed funds to the Superintendent.
  2. Trustees are, however, not expected to distribute immaterial amounts available for distribution to a large number of creditors if the cost of the distribution would appreciably exceed the amount to be distributed. As a guideline, to determine what constitutes materiality, the following will apply to both preferred and ordinary creditors:
    • (a) if there is only one (1) creditor, the funds are to be paid to the creditor where the gross amount available in the estate exceeds $5;
    • (b) if there are two (2) to five (5) creditors inclusive, the funds are to be paid to the creditors where the gross amount available in the estate exceeds $50; and
    • (c) if there are more than five (5) creditors, the funds are to be paid to the creditors where the average dividend to ordinary creditors in the estate (total amount of dividends to ordinary creditors divided by the number of ordinary creditors) will exceed $10.
  1. If additional interest is received after the preparation of the Statement of Receipts and Disbursements, the amount should be distributed to the creditors by way of an amended or additional dividend sheet if the amount available exceeds the guidelines provided in paragraph 6 above.

Coming into Force

  1. This Directive comes into force on September 18, 2009.

Enquiries

  1. For any questions pertaining to this Directive, please contact your local OSB office.

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 18
Entrée en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009

Dividendes non réclamés et fonds non distribués

Version PDF

Instruction No 18

1.9 Ko, 5 pages

Date d'émission : le

(La présente instruction remplace et annule l'instruction 8 sur le même sujet émise le .)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction :
    • « BSF » désigne le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « Loi » renvoie à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « Règles » s'entend des Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Autorité et objet

  1. La présente instruction est émise en vertu de l'autorité conférée par les alinéas 5(4)b) et c) de la Loi.
  2. La présente instruction a une double finalité :
    • a) réduire le montant des dividendes non réclamés et des fonds non distribués de manière à maximiser les dividendes versés aux créanciers; et

    • b) réduire les demandes inutiles de remboursement des créanciers auprès du BSF pour les sommes qui ont été remises à titre de dividendes non réclamés ou de fonds non distribués.

Dividendes non réclamés

  1. Les syndics procédant à leur libération dans les administrations où un dividende sera payable aux créanciers devraient :
    • a) demander une date d'audience en vue de leur libération, dans le cas d'une administration ordinaire, qui assurera un délai suffisant pour l'encaissement des chèques, minimisant ainsi le nombre de chèques retournés en raison de la fermeture du compte bancaire. Il est suggéré que la période soit de 45 à 60 jours après l'envoi des chèques afin de permettre que la majorité, sinon la totalité, des chèques retardataires soient encaissés. Ceci devient encore plus important lorsqu'il y a des créanciers de l'extérieur du Canada. Dans le cas d'une administration sommaire, l'envoi du certificat de conformité et de libération présumée devrait être retardé du même nombre de jours.
    • b) faire un effort raisonnable afin de retracer l'adresse courante des institutions financières locales ou d'entreprises connues nationalement (ou celles ayant un établissement local) dont l'avis de demande de libération du syndic a été retourné, afin de pouvoir faire suivre le chèque à la bonne adresse;
    • c) inclure sur le chèque toute référence ou tout numéro de compte figurant sur la preuve de réclamation ou le document à l'appui pour permettre au bénéficiaire du chèque d'en connaître l'objet; et
    • d) à l'expiration du délai dont il est question à l'alinéa 4a) ci-dessus et avant de procéder à sa libération, le syndic est tenu, au terme du paragraphe 154(1) de la Loi, de faire parvenir au surintendant tous les chèques non encaissés encore dans son compte bancaire.

Fonds non distribués

  1. On incite les syndics à distribuer tous les fonds disponibles aux créanciers plutôt que de les remettre au surintendant des faillites à titre de fonds non distribués.
  2. Les syndics ne sont cependant pas tenus de distribuer un montant très peu élevé devant être versé à un grand nombre de créanciers lorsque le coût de distribution dépasserait de beaucoup le montant à être distribué. Afin de déterminer ce que constitue un montant peu élevé, la norme suivante s'applique tant pour les créanciers privilégiés qu'ordinaires :
    • a) lorsqu'il y a un (1) seul créancier, les fonds doivent être versés au créancier lorsque le montant brut disponible au dossier dépasse 5 $;
    • b) lorsqu'il y a entre deux (2) et cinq (5) créanciers inclusivement, les fonds doivent être versés aux créanciers lorsque le montant brut disponible au dossier dépasse 50 $;
    • c) lorsqu'il y a plus de cinq (5) créanciers, les fonds doivent être versés aux créanciers lorsque le dividende moyen aux créanciers ordinaires (montant total des dividendes possibles aux créanciers ordinaires divisé par le nombre de créanciers ordinaires) est supérieur à 10 $.
  1. Lorsque des intérêts additionnels sont reçus suite à la préparation de l'état des recettes et des débours, le montant devrait être distribué aux créanciers au moyen d'un bordereau de dividendes additionnel ou modifié lorsque le montant disponible excède la norme prévue au paragraphe 6 ci-dessus.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009.

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Pour toute question se rapportant à la présente instruction, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites

Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :