Directive No. 9R3

PDF version

Directive No. 9R3

477 KB, 10 pages

December 15, 2006

Electronic Filing and Other Methods

This revised Directive follows several notices and discussions since the Spring of 2005, including meetings with the CAIRP Executive Committee, the Annual CAIRP Seminars of 2005 and 2006 and the OSB newsletter issues of July 2005, August 2006 and December 2006 as well as a Communiqué released to all trustees in October 2006.

Since 2002, when the e-filing system was first introduced, many benefits to using it have been noted by both the OSB and the trustees. The e-filing system is a quick, easy and secure method for trustees and proposal administrators to file prescribed documents. The e-filing system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with the exception of downtime for routine maintenance. With this system, the initial filing of summary administration bankruptcies and Division II proposals can be accepted instantly, as long as the documents are in the proper format, with an immediate notice to this effect sent to the trustee. In fact, the e-filing system has demonstrated a vastly improved turnaround time for letters of comment.

We recognize that occasionally and under unusual circumstances, for example, during a power outage, it will be impossible to file electronically. In those rare circumstances, the OSB will accept a paper filing and communicate in a timely manner to trustees the proper protocol to follow. Nevertheless, the trustee is expected to convert the paper file to an electronic one at the first opportunity. In these instances, the trustee may consult with the Official Receiver to decide whether to submit a paper filing and convert it or wait until the electronic system is once again available. In addition, trustee firms are encouraged to have a contingency plan in case their system malfunctions.

Furthermore, the e-filing system is designed with the capacity to store up to 10 years' worth of data on-line without a significant loss of performance. If necessary, the OSB could archive data to off-line media or, given the growth rate in technology, increase the storage and processing capacities.

Coming into force

The date of coming into force of Directive No. 9R3—Electronic Filing and Other Methods is in two stages. Effective January 8, 2007, all new summary administration bankruptcies and Division II proposals must be filed electronically, and effective June 4, 2007, all new ordinary administration bankruptcies and Division I proposals must be filed electronically.

Enquiries

If you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the OSB office nearest you.

Marc Mayrand
Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Electronic Filing and Other Methods

Issued: December 15, 2006

(Supersedes Directive No. 9R2 issued on June 20, 2006, as of the dates mentioned in section 15 and to the extent required.)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "administrator" means an administrator as defined in section 66.11 of the Act;
    • "business hours"
      • (a) for the purposes of the electronic filing of documents means 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, except for those periods required for system maintenance;
      • (b) for the purposes of the fax filing of documents means the business hours of division offices of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, which are from 8: 30 a.m. to 4: 30 p.m. (local time), Monday to Friday (except statutory holidays);
    • "electronic filing" or "e-filing" means the transmission of documents using the system developed for this purpose by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "fax" means the transmission of documents by that electronic media also known as a "facsimile machine";
    • "locality of a debtor" means locality of a debtor as defined in section 2 of the Act;
    • "Official Receiver" means an Official Receiver as defined in section 2 of the Act;
    • "OSB" means Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "Rules" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules;
    • "prescribed documents" means all insolvency documents required under the Act, Rules and Directives;
    • "trustee" means a trustee as defined in section 2 of the Act.

Purpose

  1. The purpose of this Directive is to require trustees and proposal administrators to file estates and transmit prescribed documents electronically to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and, where it is not possible to do so for reasons out of their control, to allow for the filing of these documents by fax or in person.

Authority

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to paragraphs 5(4)(b)(c) and (e) of the Act.

Mandatory Electronic Filing

  1. (1) As of January 8, 2007, electronic filing is mandatory for all admissible new summary administration bankruptcy estates and Division II proposals that are submitted by trustees and administrators and for all admissible subsequent prescribed documents submitted for these estates that are accepted by the OSB's electronic filing system.

    (2) As of June 4, 2007, electronic filing is mandatory for all admissible new ordinary administration bankruptcy estates and Division I proposals that are submitted by trustees and administrators and for all admissible subsequent statutory documents submitted for these estates that are accepted by the OSB's electronic filing system.

    (3) During a service interruption, for example, a power outage or a system malfunction, trustees should use alternative methods of filing after contacting the Official Receiver to discuss the proper protocol to follow.

  2. For insolvency proceedings that are not admissible to the OSB's electronic filing system, documents pertaining to those proceedings should continue to be filed in person, or sent by mail, courier or fax. These proceedings are:
    • (a) partnership assignments and partnership proposals;
    • (b) receiverships under Part XI of the Act; and
    • (c) assignments deriving from bankruptcy orders.

Copies of Documents & Costs

  1. If the OSB is requested to provide to the court a copy of a document that was received or generated by the OSB by means of electronic filing, the printed copy, which does not include an original signature, will indicate that the document is a certified copy of the records of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
  2. If a court refuses to accept a fax copy as an original document, the trustee or the OSB, as applicable, shall provide the original document to the court.
  3. The paper size for documents transmitted by fax or in person is letter size (216 mm × 280 mm or 8 1/2" × 11") in all bankruptcy districts.
  4. The allowable cost chargeable in an ordinary estate and Division I proposal when a trustee transmits documents by fax is the same amount as for photocopies as per Directive No. 3R plus long distance telephone charges. No charge is applicable for the receipt of documents sent by fax.

Assignments into Bankruptcy and Other Insolvency Proceedings Except Proposals under Part III of the Act

  1. For the purposes of assignments made pursuant to s. 49 of the Act, the date and time of the filing of a bankruptcy is the date and time when the assignment is examined and accepted by the Official Receiver, using such technological tools as are available to assist in this task.
  2. A Certificate of Appointment, containing an estate number, the date and time of the bankruptcy, the date of the trustee's appointment, and the date of the creditors' meeting, will be transmitted electronically or by fax to the trustee after acceptance of the assignment.

Documents Under Part III of the Act

  1. Documents filed in person, or sent by mail, courier or fax that relate to proceedings under Part III of the Act shall be filed with the Official Receiver in the division office which serves the locality of the debtor.
  2. Documents related to proceedings under Part III of the Act which are filed by fax after business hours, or by electronic filing, and which are in the proper form, are deemed to be filed with the Official Receiver on the date and at the time that they are received by the OSB. The date and time of receipt shall be the date and time as recorded by the electronic filing system or the fax machine that received the document(s).

Special Circumstances

  1. Trustees who wish to transmit prescribed documents by fax, relating either to assignments or proposals, to the division office after business hours, and require confirmation from an Official Receiver that they have been received and/or are accepted, may in special circumstances communicate with an Official Receiver during business hours to make other arrangements at the discretion of that Official Receiver.

Coming into Force

  1. (1) This Directive comes into force on January 8, 2007, for all admissible new summary administration bankruptcies and Division II proposals.

    (2) This Directive comes into force on June 4, 2007, for all admissible new ordinary administration bankruptcies and Division I proposals.

Marc Mayrand
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 9R3

Version PDF

Instruction No 9R3

477 Ko, 10 pages

Le 15 décembre 2006

Dépôt électronique et autres méthodes

Cette instruction révisée fait suite aux nombreux préavis et discussions qui ont eu lieu depuis le printemps 2005, que ce soit à l'occasion de rencontres avec le Comité exécutif de l'ACPIR, des séminaires annuels de l'ACPIR de 2005 et 2006 et des numéros du Bulletin du BSF de juillet 2005, d'août 2006 et de décembre 2006 ainsi que l'envoi d'un communiqué à tous les syndics en octobre 2006.

Depuis l'introduction du système de dépôt électronique en 2002, de nombreux avantages de l'utilisation de ce système ont été signalés à la fois pour le BSF et les syndics. Le dépôt électronique du BSF est un moyen rapide, facile et sûr pour les syndics et les administrateurs de propositions de déposer les document prescrits. Le dépôt électronique est accessible 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, sauf pendant les périodes d'entretien routinier de celui-ci. Avec ce système, le dépôt initial de faillites d'administration sommaire et de propositions de consommateur peut être accepté instantanément, dans la mesure où les documents sont dans le format approprié, avec l'envoi immédiat au syndic d'un avis à cet effet. De plus, le dépôt électronique a amélioré considérablement les délais d'émission de lettres de commentaires.

Nous reconnaissons qu'à l'occasion et dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, par exemple durant une panne d'électricité, il sera impossible d'utiliser le dépôt électronique. Dans ces rares circonstances, le BSF acceptera le dépôt de documents imprimés et communiquera avec le syndic, dans un délai raisonnable, pour lui indiquer la démarche appropriée à suivre. Toutefois, on s'attend à ce que le syndic convertisse le dossier imprimé en format électronique à la première occasion. Dans les cas d'interruption du service, le syndic peut consulter le séquestre officiel pour décider s'il est préférable de déposer un dossier imprimé et de le convertir par la suite ou d'attendre que le système soit à nouveau fonctionnel. Par ailleurs, les firmes de syndics sont encouragées à se munir d'un plan de contingence pour palier aux possibles pannes de fonctionnement de leurs systèmes.

En outre, le système de dépôt électronique a la capacité de stocker jusqu'à dix ans de données en ligne sans perte significative de rendement. Au besoin, le BSF pourra archiver des données sur un support hors ligne ou, selon l'évolution technologique, simplement augmenter les capacités de stockage et de traitement.

Entrée en vigueur

La date d'entrée en vigueur de l'Instruction No 9R3 — Dépôt électronique et autres méthodes se fera en deux étapes. À compter du 8 janvier 2007, tous les nouveaux dossiers de faillites d'administration sommaire et de propositions en vertu de la Section II devront être déposés par voie électronique et, à compter du 4 juin 2007, tous les nouveaux dossiers de faillites d'administration ordinaire et de propositions en vertu de la Section I devront être déposés par voie électronique.

Demandes de renseignements

Si vous désirez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus près de votre localité.

Marc Mayrand
Surintendant des faillites


Dépôt électronique et autres méthodes

Émise : Le 15 décembre 2006

(Remplace et annule l'Instruction 9R2 émise le 20 juin 2006, à compter des dates énoncées à l'article 15 et dans la mesure requise.)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction.
    • « administrateur » Administrateur tel que défini à l'article 66.11 de la Loi;
    • « BSF » Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « dépôt électronique » La transmission de documents au moyen du système mis sur pied à cette fin par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « documents prescrits » Tous les documents sur l'insolvabilité requis par la Loi, les Règles et les instructions;
    • « heures d'ouverture »
      • a) Pour les besoins du dépôt électronique de documents, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, sauf pendant les périodes d'entretien du système;
      • b) Pour les besoins du dépôt de documents par télécopieur, les heures d'ouverture des bureaux de division du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, soit de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 (heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés);
    • « localité d'un débiteur » La localité d'un débiteur au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi;
    • « Loi » La Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « Règles » Les Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « séquestre officiel » Séquestre officiel tel que défini à l'article 2 de la Loi;
    • « syndic » Syndic tel que défini à l'article 2 de la Loi;
    • « télécopie » La transmission de documents par l'appareil électronique communément appelé « télécopieur ».

Objet

  1. La présente instruction a pour objet de requérir les syndics et les administrateurs de propositions de déposer les dossiers d'actifs et de transmettre les documents prescrits au moyen du système de dépôt électronique au Bureau du surintendant des faillites et, lorsque ce n'est pas possible pour des raisons hors de leur contrôle, d'autoriser le dépôt de ces documents par télécopieur ou en personne.

Autorité

  1. La présente instruction est émise en vertu des alinéas 5(4)b), c) et e) de la Loi.

Dépôt électronique obligatoire

  1. (1) À compter du 8 janvier 2007, l'utilisation du système de dépôt électronique sera obligatoire pour tous les nouveaux dossiers admissibles de faillites d'administration sommaire et de propositions de consommateur, déposés par les syndics et les administrateurs de propositions de même que pour tous les documents prescrits subséquents acceptés par le système de dépôt électronique du BSF.

    (2) À compter du 4 juin 2007, l'utilisation du système de dépôt électronique sera obligatoire pour tous les nouveaux dossiers admissibles de faillites d'administration ordinaire et de propositions de la Section I, déposés par les syndics et les administrateurs de propositions de même que pour tous les documents prescrits subséquents sur ces actifs acceptés par le système de dépôt électronique du BSF.

    (3) Lors d'une interruption du système de dépôt électronique, par exemple, dans le cas d'une panne d'électricité ou lors d'un mauvais fonctionnement du système, les syndics utilisent d'autres méthodes de dépôt, une fois qu'ils ont communiqué avec le séquestre officiel pour discuter de la démarche appropriée à suivre.

  2. Pour les procédures d'insolvabilité qui ne sont pas admissibles par le système de dépôt électronique du BSF, les documents reliés à ces types de procédures doivent être déposés en personne ou envoyés par courrier, par service de messagerie ou par télécopieur. Ces types de procédures sont :
    • a) les cessions et propositions de sociétés;
    • b) les mises sous séquestre de la Partie XI de la Loi;
    • c) les cessions à l'occasion d'ordonnances de faillite.

Copies et coûts de documents

  1. Lorsque le BSF fournit au tribunal une copie d'un document qu'il a reçu ou produit par le BSF au moyen du dépôt électronique, la copie imprimée, qui ne porte pas de signature originale, indiquera qu'il s'agit d'une copie certifiée des registres du surintendant des faillites.
  2. Lorsqu'un tribunal refuse d'admettre à titre de document original une télécopie, le syndic ou le BSF, selon le cas, doit remettre au tribunal le document original.
  3. Le format requis pour la transmission de documents par télécopieur ou en personne est le format lettre (216 mm × 280 mm ou 8 ½ po × 11 po) pour tous les districts de faillite.
  4. Le coût imputable admissible à un dossier d'administration ordinaire et à une proposition de la Section I, lorsqu'un syndic transmet un document par télécopieur, est identique au coût établi par l'Instruction No 3R pour les photocopies en plus des frais d'appels interurbains. Aucuns frais ne sont exigés pour la réception d'un document envoyé par télécopieur.

Cessions de biens et autres procédures d'insolvabilité, sauf les propositions de la partie III de la Loi

  1. Pour les besoins des cessions déposées en vertu de l'article 49 de la Loi, la date et l'heure du dépôt d'une faillite sont celles où le séquestre officiel a examiné et accepté la cession en utilisant les outils technologiques à sa disposition pour l'aider dans cette tâche.
  2. Un certificat de nomination indiquant le numéro de dossier, la date et l'heure de faillite, la date de nomination du syndic et la date de l'assemblée des créanciers sera transmis au syndic après l'acceptation de la cession, par télécopieur ou au moyen du système de dépôt électronique.

Documents de la partie III de la Loi

  1. Les documents déposés en personne ou envoyés par courrier, par service de messagerie ou par télécopieur concernant les procédures de la partie III de la Loi doivent être déposés auprès du séquestre officiel du bureau de division de la localité du débiteur.
  2. Les documents concernant les procédures de la partie III de la Loi, déposés, en bonne et due forme, par télécopieur après les heures d'ouverture ou au moyen du système de dépôt électronique, sont présumés déposés auprès du séquestre officiel à la date et à l'heure où ils sont reçus par le BSF. La date et l'heure de réception sont celles enregistrées par le télécopieur ou le système de dépôt électronique qui a reçu le(s) document(s).

Cas spéciaux

  1. Les syndics qui désirent envoyer par télécopieur des documents prescrits, traitant soit de cessions ou de propositions, au bureau de division après les heures d'ouverture et qui requièrent une confirmation d'un séquestre officiel à l'effet que les documents ont été reçus et/ou acceptés, peuvent dans des cas spéciaux, communiquer avec un séquestre officiel pendant les heures d'ouverture et prendre d'autres dispositions à la discrétion de ce séquestre officiel.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. (1) La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 8 janvier 2007 pour tous les nouveaux dossiers de faillites d'administration sommaire admissibles et les propositions de consommateur admissibles.

    (2) La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 4 juin 2007 pour tous les nouveaux dossiers de faillites d'administration ordinaire admissibles et les propositions de la Section I admissibles.

Marc Mayrand
Surintendant des faillites

Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :