Directive No. 16R (Pre-1992)

Preparation of the statement of affairs

PDF version

Directive No. 16R

MB, 12 pages

Issued:

Reissued:

Purpose

This Directive revises and replaces Directive #16 issued as well as any previously issued policies on this matter.

Background

  1. The Statement of Affairs is one of the most important documents for the administration of the estate and one on which a variety of users, the Court, the trustee, the creditors, the inspectors and the Official Receiver, base their decisions.
  2. Although the Statement of Affairs is the debtor's statement, the trustee often assists in its preparation on the basis of the information provided by the debtor. As the preparation of the Statement of Affairs is normally done by the trustee, the time spent is a normal and acceptable charge to the estate.
  3. Whereas financial statements prepared by professional accountants will normally be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, such is not the case for a Statement of Affairs where there are no guidelines. There are concerns that the manner in which it is prepared in numerous instances leads to confusion and misunderstanding.
  4. The multiplicity of ways in which assets and liabilities have been treated for the purpose of the preparation of the Statement of Affairs have often led to a distorted picture of the actual situation of the debtor leading to unreliable criteria on which decisions by the creditors, the Official Receiver and the trustee are made.

    Guidelines

  5. While assisting a debtor in preparing his Statement of Affairs, trustees are expected to make an effort by using their experience and skill to improve the full disclosure of all the necessary information and help the debtor to provide information which is proper and as accurate as possible, having regard to the circumstances and to the provincial exemptions and legislation.
  6. Form 74A – Statement of Affairs of a Non-Business Bankrupt is to be used for all consumer debtors and non-business bankruptcies whether the estate is administered under the summary administration provisions or under the regular provisions of the Act. Form 74 – Statement of Affairs is to be used for all other proceedings.
  7. Where a partnership is involved, a Statement of Affairs must be prepared for the business as well as for each of the partners making an assignment.
  8. For the purpose of this Directive,
    1. a consumer debtor is defined as an individual:
      • who has no business assets; and
      • who is not currently active in business; (commissioned salespersons or individuals in similar occupations should be classified as consumer debtors)
    2. indebtedness resulting from guarantees or endorsements of a corporation or a third party operating a business does not constitute a debt arising out of the operation of a business.
  9. Notwithstanding paragraph 6, in those cases where the use of the alternate form could be more appropriate, the trustee shall consult the Official Receiver as to the acceptability of using the alternate form.
  10. In completing the Statement of Affairs or the Statement of Affairs of a Non-Business Bankrupt:
    1. the full name and complete address of each creditor is to be shown, additional creditors not shown on the list should be shown as a separate list;
    2. where the exact or approximate amount owed or where the value of the asset is not known, the "best estimate" of the amount involved is to be included and the debtor is to refrain from using a question mark in the "estimated dollar value of assets" or the "amount of debt" columns of Form 74A or in the "assets" or "liabilities" columns of Form 74;
    3. in those cases where it is not possible to determine an amount because of its contingent nature, an explanation is to be provided as to why an amount cannot be indicated (i.e. – tax refund unknown, judgment not yet rendered);
    4. where a property is jointly or partially owned, the situation is to be reflected in the Statement of Affairs with the debtor's share of the property, the share of the secured encumbrances that he is directly responsible for as well as any possible contingent claims as he is, with the other co-owner(s), jointly and severely responsible for all of the encumbrances against the property;
    5. where the debtor cannot ascertain if an amount is or could be owed to a creditor, but wants to include the said creditor. The creditor should be shown on the Statement of Affairs as a supplementary creditor without any amount or question mark in the dollar amount column;
    6. appendices "A" and "B" indicate how individual elements of assets and liabilities are to be dealt with or presented on the Statement of Affairs;
    7. the appendices attached to the Statement of Affairs are to be fully completed to provide all the details to substantiate the amounts appearing on the front page of the Statement of Affairs; and
    8. the front page of a business Statement of Affairs (Form 74) should be sent to creditors with the notice to creditors of the first meeting and the list of creditors. In the case of a Non-business Statement of Affairs (form 74A), the Statement of Affairs and all the appendices are to be sent to the creditors.

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Wally Clare


Appendix "A"

Assets and liabilities of the debtor are to be shown in the manner indicated under the individual captions

Statement of affairs of a non-business bankrupt

(Form 74A)

Assets

  1. Cash on hand: Moneys turned over to the trustee by the debtor at the time of the assignment is to be shown (on hand or in the bank).
  2. Furniture: Where there is a provincial exemption, the amount of such exemption should be shown under "description". Any part-interest of the debtor in the property should be indicated. The debtor's estimated realizable dollar value of the asset is to be shown in the dollar column.
  3. Personal effects: (may include jewellery, collections, works of art, fur coats, cameras, etc…): Where there is a provincial exemption, the amount of such exemption should be shown under "description". Any part-interest of the debtor in the property should be indicated. The debtor's estimated realizable dollar value of the asset is to be shown in the dollar column.
  4. C.S.V. of insurance policies: The life insurance policies should be examined. The C.S.V. should be shown with "exemption" if preferential beneficiary or where the estate is not the beneficiary.
  5. Stocks, bonds: (also includes fully paid or subscribed CSB): All securities and negotiable instruments, even if deemed to be without any value, should be seized by trustee. The net realizable value of the various stocks is to be shown with an appropriate description.
  6. Real estate: Indicate the municipal address; if sole owner, part-owner or joint tenant; and if partly or fully encumbered. For land, a short legal description instead of the municipal address could suffice. The value to be shown is the realizable value of the property.

    Should the real property or other property be under litigation it is still to be shown as an asset with the off-setting encumbrance on the liability side, regardless of the interest or equity of the debtor where the debtor is still the registered owner. Where the proceedings are entirely executed and neither the debtor nor the trustee have any recourse to retake possession of the asset, the property is not to be shown as an asset. As to the related lien, only the eventual shortfall on the disposal, if applicable, is to be shown. Where there is a provincial exemption, the amount of such exemption should be shown under "description".

  7. Motorized vehicles: Indicate the year, model and serial number and if partly or fully encumbered. Reference to a recognized value publication (black book) to determine the value of automobiles would be acceptable. The value to be shown is the estimated realizable value.
  8. Recreational equipment: (includes campers, trailers, boats, hunting equipment, etc…) Indicate the full description, year, model and serial number. The value to be shown is the estimated realizable value.
  9. Estimated tax refund: Refers to the refund receivable as a result of the previous year's tax return for which the refund has not yet been received as of the date of the assignment. Where a reasonable estimate has been made of the pre-bankruptcy tax refund, it can also be included but must be so identified.
  10. Other assets: Includes all other assets not shown above such as accounts receivable, R.R.S.P., amounts receivable as a result of litigation, reversionary or other interests under wills, or interest of the debtor in any transaction. The value to be shown is the estimated realizable value.

Liabilities

  1. Unsecured: All unsecured debts, including the unsecured portion of debts owing to preferred and secured creditors.
  2. Secured creditors: Only the secured portion of the debts is to be shown in this column. Where the value of the property under lien is less than the total liability, the excess portion of the debt is to be shown as unsecured. The particulars of the security on the encumbered assets is also to be shown at the bottom of appendix A.
  3. Preferred creditors: Preferred portion of debts are to be shown in this column. Where the debtor cannot ascertain if an amount is or could be owed to the creditor but wants to include the said creditor (i.e. Revenue Canada), no dollar amount is to be shown. Where a deemed trust liability may exist, the amount expected to rank against the estate is to be shown therein.
  4. Contingent and Unliquidated: An explanation of the nature and amount of the claim with the amount of proven claims estimated to rank for a dividend is to be provided. Similar treatment is to be given to guarantees. Where the debtor has given a third party guarantee or endorsement, the nature of the guarantee or endorsement is to be explained.

Appendix "B"

Statement of affairs – business

(Form 74)

Assets

  1. Stock-in-trade: Indicate the fair market value. Fair market value on the Statement of Affairs is interpreted as the best estimate by the debtor of the forced sale value of the merchandise. Any encumbrances should be disclosed.
  2. Trade fixtures: Same as (a) above. Where these assets are immovable by location and there is no realizable value, a notation to this effect should appear on the pertinent schedule or on the front page of the Statement of Affairs.
  3. Book debts: The total amount of receivables and the amount to produce according to the best estimate of the debtor is to be shown. Particular attention is also to be given to any right of set-off so as not to distort the amount to be realized.
  4. Bill of exchange: Provide the detail thereof on the schedule attached to the Statement of Affairs. The estimated amount expected to be realized is to be shown.
  5. Cash in bank: Amount of money in the bank account(s) of the debtor to be turned over to the trustee.
  6. Cash on hand: Amount of money remitted by the debtor to the trustee in the form of a deposit (i.e. cash, credit cards slips, undeposited cheques).
  7. Livestock: Same as (a) above.
  8. Machinery, equipment and plant: Same as (a) above. See also item (i) immediately below regarding encumbrances.
  9. Real estate: The value to be shown is the estimated realizable value. Also indicate if sole owner, part-owner or joint tenant, and if partly or fully encumbered. On the pertinent schedule, indicate the municipal address; (for land, a short legal form description instead of the municipal address will also suffice) and all required details.

    Should the real property or other property be under litigation, it is still to be shown as an asset with the off-setting encumbrance on the liability side, regardless of the interest or equity of the debtor where the debtor is still the owner. Where the proceedings are entirely executed and neither the debtor nor the trustee have any recourse to retake possession of the asset, the property is not to be shown as an asset. As to the related lien, only the eventual shortfall on the disposal, if applicable, is to be shown.

  10. Estimated realizable value of securities in hand of secured creditors: A full description and location of the securities is to be provided on an appendix to the Statement of Affairs.
  11. Furniture: Same as (a) above. Where the debtor is an individual and there is a provincial exemption, the amount of such exemption will be shown on the pertinent schedule. Where the debtor has only a part-interest in the property, it should be indicated. The realizable dollar value estimated by the debtor is to be shown in the dollar column.
  12. Life insurance policies: The cash surrender value is to be shown. Where the estate is not the beneficiary, it should be indicated and a realizable value of "nil" is to be shown.
  13. Reversionary or other interests under wills: Where beneficiary or remainder-man of a deceased person, indicate the name of the deceased. If the amount to be received cannot be determined, indicate "indeterminate". If an amount can be estimated, indicate the approximate amount involved.
  14. Other property: Could include assets such as motor vehicles, R.R.S.P., patents, trade marks, joint interest in property. The estimated realizable value is to be shown. For details as to individual elements, also refer to the Statement of Affairs of a Non-Business Bankrupt where applicable.

Liabilities

  1. Unsecured: All unsecured debts, including the unsecured portion of debts owing to preferred and secured creditors.
  2. Secured creditors: Secured portion of debts to be shown in this category. Where the value of the property under lien is less than the total liability, the excess portion of the debt is to be shown as unsecured. The particulars of the security on the encumbered assets is also to be shown.Footnote 1
  3. Liabilities on bills or notes endorsed…: The amount expected to rank for dividend is to be shown.Footnote 1
  4. Preferred creditors: Preferred portion of debts are to be shown in this category. Footnote 1 Where the debtor cannot ascertain if an amount is or could be owed to the creditor but wants to include the said creditor (i.e. Revenue Canada), no dollar amount is to be shown. Where a deemed trust liability may exist, the amount expected to rank against the estate is to be shown therein.
  5. Contingent and Unliquidated: An explanation of the nature and amount of the claim with the amount of proven claims estimated to rank for a dividend is to be provided. Similar treatment is to be given to guarantees. Where the debtor has given a third party guarantee or endorsement, the nature of the guarantee or endorsement is to be explained.

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 16R (Pré-1992)

Préparation du bilan statutaire

Version PDF

Instruction No 16R

Mo, 12 pages

Émise : le

Émise de nouveau : le

Objet

Cette directive révise et remplace la directive #16 émise le ainsi que toute autre politique émise antérieurement sur ce sujet.

Généralités

  1. Le bilan statutaire est l'un des documents les plus importants pour l'administration de l'actif et sert à l'ensemble des participants nommément la cour, le syndic, les créanciers, les inspecteurs et le séquestre officiel, dans leur prise de décisions.
  2. Bien que le bilan statutaire soit celui du débiteur, c'est généralement le syndic qui le prépare à même les renseignements fournis par le débiteur. Compte tenu de cette pratique, il est normal et acceptable que le temps consacré par le syndic à la préparation du bilan statutaire soit un coût imputable à l'actif.
  3. Alors que les états financiers rédigés par un comptable professionnel sont préparés selon des principes comptables généralement reconnus, tel n'est pas le cas pour le bilan statutaire puisqu'aucune ligne directrice n'existe. Très souvent, en raison des diverses méthodes utilisées, les bilans suscitent le doute ou l'équivoque.
  4. La variété dans la présentation des actifs et du passif lors de la préparation du bilan statutaire transmet souvent une image incorrecte de la situation véritable du débiteur, laissant les créanciers, le syndic et le séquestre officiel sans critères fiables pour leur prise de décisions.

    Lignes directrices

  5. Tout en aidant le débiteur dans la préparation de son bilan les syndics doivent, selon leur expérience et expertise, faire un effort pour promouvoir le plus possible la divulgation complète des renseignements nécessaires et aider le débiteur à fournir des renseignements qui sont des plus précis et appropriés, compte tenu des circonstances, des exemptions et des législations provinciales.
  6. Le formulaire 74A – Le bilan d'un failli non-commerçant doit être utilisé pour tous les débiteurs-consommateurs et les faillites de non-commerçants, que le dossier soit administré selon les dispositions de l'administration sommaire ou non. Le formulaire 74 – Le bilan commercial doit être utilisé pour les autres administrations.
  7. Lorsqu'il s'agit de la faillite d'une société en nom collectif, un bilan doit être préparé pour l'entreprise ainsi que pour chacun des associés qui fait cession de ses biens.
  8. Aux fins de la présente directive,
    1. un débiteur-consommateur est un particulier :
      • qui n'a pas d'actif d'affaires; et
      • qui n'exploite pas présentement une entreprise; (les vendeurs à commission ou autres personnes dans une situation semblable doivent être considérés comme des consommateurs)
    2. l'endettement résultant de garanties ou d'endossements d'emprunts d'une compagnie ou d'une tierce personne en affaires, ne constitue pas un endettement découlant de l'exploitation d'une entreprise.
  9. Nonobstant le paragraphe 6, lorsqu'il semble plus à propos, dans certains cas, d'utiliser une formule plutôt que l'autre, le syndic devra consulter le séquestre officiel quant à la possibilité de le faire.
  10. Lors de la préparation du bilan d'un failli non-commerçant comme d'un commerçant :
    1. le nom et l'adresse complète de chaque créancier doivent apparaître, les créanciers additionnels qui n'apparaissent pas sur la liste doivent être inscris sur une liste séparée;
    2. lorsque le montant exact ou approximatif de la dette ou d'un bien de l'actif n'est pas connu, le "meilleur montant estimé" devrait être indiqué et le débiteur doit s'abstenir d'utiliser un point d'interrogation dans les colonnes "valeur estimée des actifs" ou "montant de la dette" du formulaire 74A ou dans les colonnes "actif" ou "passif" du formulaire 74;
    3. lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de déterminer un montant en raison de sa nature éventuelle, une explication doit être donnée quant à la raison pour laquelle le montant ne peut être établi (e.g. remboursement d'impôt non connu, jugement non rendu);
    4. lorsqu'un bien est détenu conjointement ou partiellement, il faut en tenir compte, en démontrant au bilan la part du débiteur dans l'actif, la part des créances garanties dont il est directement responsable ainsi que toutes réclamations éventuelles vu qu'il est conjointement et solidairement responsable, avec le(s) autres copropriétaire(s), de la totalité des créances à l'encontre du bien;
    5. lorsque le débiteur ne peut déterminer si un montant est ou serait dû à un créancier mais veut toutefois l'aviser. Le créancier devrait être démontré comme créancier supplémentaire au bilan statutaire sans qu'un point d'interrogation ou un montant n'apparaisse dans la colonne des dollars;
    6. les annexes "A" et "B" montrent comment les éléments particuliers d'actif et de passif doivent être traités ou présentés au bilan statutaire;
    7. les annexes au bilan statutaire doivent être entièrement complétées dans les moindres détails afin de justifier les montants apparaissant à la page frontispice du bilan statutaire; et
    8. la page frontispice du bilan statutaire (formulaire 74) devrait être envoyée à tous les créanciers avec l'avis de la première assemblée des créanciers et la liste des créanciers. Dans le cas d'un Bilan d'un failli non-commerçant (formulaire 74A), le bilan et les annexes doivent être envoyés aux créanciers.

Le surintendant des faillites

Wally Clare


Annexe "A"

L'actif et le passif du débiteur doivent apparaître de la manière prescrite sous chacune des rubriques

Bilan d'un failli non-commerçant

(Formulaire 74A)

Actif

  1. Espèces en mains : Indiquer les sommes que le débiteur a remises au syndic au moment de la cession (espèces en main ou en banque).
  2. Ameublement : Si une exemption provinciale est prévue, le montant de l'exemption devrait figurer sous la rubrique « description ». Tout intérêt partiel du débiteur dans le bien doit être indiqué. La valeur estimée par le débiteur des biens réalisables doit figurer dans la colonne des dollars.
  3. Effets personnels : (peut comprendre bijoux, collections, objets d'art, manteaux de fourrure, appareils photographiques ou autres objets). Si une exemption provinciale est prévue, le montant de l'exemption devrait figurer sous la rubrique « description ». Tout intérêt partiel du débiteur dans le bien doit être indiqué. La valeur estimée par le débiteur des biens réalisables doit figurer dans la colonne des dollars.
  4. Valeur de rachat de l'assurance-vie : Les polices d'assurance-vie devraient faire l'objet d'un examen. La valeur de rachat doit indiquer « exemption » s'il y a un bénéficiaire privilégié ou si l'actif n'est pas le bénéficiaire.
  5. Valeur de bourse : (y compris les obligations d'épargne du Canada payées en entier ou souscrites) Le syndic doit saisir tous les titres et effets de commerce négociables, même s'ils sont considérés comme étant sans valeur. Il faut mentionner la valeur nette réalisable des diverses actions et en faire une description appropriée.
  6. Immeubles : Fournir l'adresse municipale de l'immeuble, préciser si le débiteur est propriétaire individuel ou en copropriétaire et indiquer si l'immeuble est totalement ou partiellement grevé. Dans le cas d'un terrain, une brève description légale peut remplacer l'adresse municipale. La valeur à indiquer correspond à la valeur réalisable de la propriété.

    Même si les biens-fonds ou toute autre propriété font l'objet d'un litige, il faut les inscrire dans la colonne de l'actif et porter les charges dont ils sont grevées dans la colonne du passif, peu importe l'intérêt ou l'équité détenu par le débiteur, pourvu qu'il en soit toujours le propriétaire enregistré. Si les procédures sont terminées et que ni le débiteur ni le syndic n'ont de recours pour reprendre possession du bien, la propriété ne doit pas faire partie de l'actif, pas plus que la sûreté réelle qui s'y rattache. Il faut indiquer, s'il y a lieu, seulement le déficit anticipé lors de la réalisation du bien. Si une exemption provinciale est prévue, le montant de l'exemption devrait figurer sous la rubrique « description ».

  7. Véhicules : Indiquer l'année, le modèle et numéro de série du véhicule et préciser s'il est partiellement ou totalement grevé. Pour déterminer la valeur des automobiles, il serait acceptable de consulter un livre reconnu (livre noir) qui fait mention de la valeur des véhicules. La valeur à indiquer correspond à la valeur réalisable estimée.
  8. Équipements de loisir : (y compris camionnettes de camping, caravanes, bateaux, équipement de chasse ou autre) Faire une description complète des équipements et en indiquer l'année, le modèle et le numéro de série. La valeur à inscrire correspond à la valeur réalisable estimée.
  9. Remboursement d'impôt prévu : Correspond au remboursement que le débiteur n'avait pas encore touché à la date de la cession mais qu'il devait recevoir selon la déclaration d'impôt de l'année précédente. Si une évaluation raisonnable du remboursement d'impôt préfaillite a été faite, il est possible de l'inclure au bilan à condition de mentionner qu'il s'agit d'un montant approximatif.
  10. Autres actifs : Comprend tous les autres actifs non visés par les rubriques ci-dessus notamment les comptes à recevoir, les REER, les sommes à recevoir à la suite d'un litige, les nues-propriétés et les autres droits en vertu de testaments ou d'une succession ainsi que les intérêts du débiteur dans toute transaction. La valeur à indiquer correspond à la valeur réalisable estimée.

Passif

  1. Créanciers non garantis : Inscrire toutes les dettes non garanties et, dans le cas de créanciers privilégiés ou garantis, la partie non garantie des sommes qui leur sont dues.
  2. Créanciers garantis : Seule la partie garantie des dettes doit figurer dans cette colonne. Lorsque la valeur de la propriété grevée par une sûreté réelle est inférieure au passif total, l'excédent de la dette doit être déclaré comme non garanti. La description détaillée de la garantie sur le bien grevé doit paraître au bas de l'annexe « A ».
  3. Créanciers privilégiés : La partie privilégiée des dettes doit figurer sous cette rubrique. Lorsque le débiteur ne peut déterminer si une somme est ou pourrait être due à un créancier et qu'il veut inscrire ce dernier (p. ex. Revenu Canada) sur la liste des créanciers privilégiés, aucun montant ne doit être indiqué. Lorsqu'il y a possibilité d'une fiducie présumée, le montant pouvant être réclamé contre l'actif devrait apparaître sous cette rubrique.
  4. Dettes éventuelles ou autres dettes non liquidées : Expliquer la nature et fournir le montant de la réclamation ainsi que la dette pouvant être réclamée contre l'actif pour fin de dividende. Faire la même chose pour les garanties. Si le débiteur a consenti une garantie ou un endossement envers un tiers, la nature de cette garantie ou de l'endossement doit être indiquée.

Annexe B

Bilan statutaire – entreprise

(formulaire 74)

Actif

  1. Fonds de commerce : Indiquer la juste valeur marchande sur le bilan. La juste valeur marchande est l'estimation la plus exacte que le débiteur a pu faire de la valeur des actifs dans une vente forcée. Indiquer si le bien est totalement ou partiellement grevé.
  2. Aménagement : Voir le paragraphe a) ci-dessus. Si ces éléments d'actif sont immeubles par destination et qu'ils n'ont aucune valeur réalisable, il faut en faire mention à l'annexe appropriée ou à la première page du bilan.
  3. Créances : Indiquer le montant total des sommes à recevoir et à réaliser d'après les estimations les plus exactes du débiteur. Il faudra apporter une attention particulière à tout droit de compensation de manière à ne pas fausser le montant réalisable.
  4. Lettres de change : Fournir les détails pertinents sur l'annexe jointe au bilan. Inscrire le montant estimatif à réaliser.
  5. Espèces en banque : Solde des comptes de banque que le débiteur a cédé au syndic.
  6. Espèces en caisse : Montant que le débiteur a remis au syndic (i.e. argent comptant, feuillets de cartes de crédit, chèques non déposés).
  7. Bétail : Voir le paragraphe a) ci-dessus.
  8. Machine, outillage et installation : Voir le paragraphe a) ci-dessus, et le paragraphe i) au sujet des charges.
  9. Immeubles : La valeur à indiquer correspond à la valeur estimée réalisable. Indiquer également si le failli est propriétaire individuel ou copropriétaire et préciser si l'immeuble est totalement ou partiellement grevé. A l'annexe appropriée, indiquer l'adresse municipale (dans le cas d'un terrain, une brève description légale pourrait également suffire) et les autres détails requis.

    Même si les bien-fonds ou toute autre propriété font l'objet d'un litige, il faut les inscrire dans la colonne de l'actif et porter les charges dans la colonne du passif, peu importe l'intérêt ou l'équité détenu par le débiteur, pourvu qu'il en soit encore propriétaire. Si les procédures sont terminées et que ni le débiteur ni le syndic n'ont de recours pour reprendre possession du bien, la propriété ne doit pas faire partie de l'actif. Il faut indiquer, s'il y a lieu, seulement le déficit anticipé lors de la réalisation du bien.

  10. Valeur réalisable estimative des garanties entre les mains des créanciers garantis : Dans une annexe du bilan, il faut faire une description complète des garanties et indiquer où elles se trouvent.
  11. Ameublement : Voir le paragraphe a) ci-dessus. Si le débiteur est un particulier et si une exemption provinciale est prévue, le total de l'exemption doit figurer sur l'annexe appropriée. Il faut également préciser si le débiteur ne détient qu'un intérêt partiel dans l'ameublement. La valeur réalisable estimée par le débiteur doit figurer dans la colonne des dollars.
  12. Polices d'assurance-vie : Indiquer la valeur de rachat réalisable. Si l'actif n'est pas le bénéficiaire, en faire mention et indiquer une valeur réalisable « nulle ».
  13. Nues-propriétés ou autres intérêts en vertu d'un testament ou d'une succession : S'il s'agit d'un bénéficiaire ou d'un héritier présomptif, indiquer le nom du défunt. S'il est impossible de déterminer le montant à recevoir, inscrire « indéterminé ». S'il est possible d'établir la valeur estimative du montant, inscrire ledit montant.
  14. Autres biens : Peut comprendre des actifs comme des véhicules automobiles, des REER, des brevets, des marques de commerce, des titres de copropriété. Inscrire la valeur estimative réalisable. Pour en connaître davantage sur chacun des biens, consulter le paragraphe pertinent du bilan d'un failli non-commerçant.

Passif

  1. Créanciers non garantis : Inscrire toutes les dettes non garanties et, dans le cas de créanciers privilégiés ou garantis, la partie non garantie des sommes qui leur sont dues.
  2. Créanciers garantis : Seule la partie garantie des dettes doit figurer dans cette colonne. Lorsque la valeur de la propriété grevée d'une sûreté réelle est inférieure au passif total, l'excédent de la dette doit être déclaré comme non garanti.Note de bas de page 1
  3. Passif des effets ou billets endossés : Indiquer le montant devant porter dividende.Note de bas de page 1
  4. Créanciers privilégiés : La partie privilégiée des dettes doit figurer sous cette rubrique. Lorsque le débiteur ne peut déterminer si une somme est ou pourrait être due au créancier et qu'il veut inscrire ce dernier (p. ex. Revenu Canada) sur la liste des créanciers privilégiés,aucun montant ne doit être indiqué. Lorsqu'il y a possibilité d'une fiducie présumée, le montant pouvant être réclamé contre l'actif devrait apparaître sous cette rubrique.
  5. Dettes éventuelles ou non liquidées : Expliquer la nature et fournir le montant de la dette réclamée ainsi que la dette pouvant être réclamée contre l'actif pour fin de dividende. Faire la même chose pour les garanties. Si le débiteur a consenti une garantie ou un endossement en faveur d'un tiers, la nature de cette garantie ou de l'endossement doit être indiquée.Note de bas de page 1

Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :