Directive No. 2R

Joint Filing

PDF version

Directive No. 2R

50 KB, 3 pages

Issued: 

(Supersedes Directive No. 2 previously issued on )

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    "Act"
    means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    "assignment"
    means an assignment filed with the official receiver;
    "consumer proposal"
    means a proposal made under Division II of Part III of the Act;
    "file"
    means an assignment in bankruptcy or a consumer proposal, as the case may be.

Purpose

  1. The purpose of this Directive is to specify the circumstances in which an assignment in bankruptcy or a consumer proposal of more than one individual may be dealt with jointly as one file.

Background

  1. Paragraph 155 (f) of the Act states:

    "in such circumstances as are specified in directives of the Superintendent, the estates of individuals who, because of their relationship, could reasonably be dealt with as one estate may be dealt with as one estate".

  2. Subsection 66.12(1.1) of the Act states:

    "Two or more consumer proposals may, in such circumstances as are specified in directives of the Superintendent, be dealt with as one consumer proposal where they could reasonably be dealt with together because of the financial relationship of the consumer debtors involved."

Policy

  1. Assignments filed under the provisions relating to summary administrations may be dealt with as one estate where the debts of the individuals making the joint assignment are substantially the same and the trustee is of the opinion that it is in the best interest of the debtors and creditors.
  2. Consumer proposals may be dealt with as one consumer proposal where the debts of the individuals making the joint consumer proposal are substantially the same and the administrator of consumer proposals is of the opinion that it is in the best interest of the debtors and creditors.
  3. In a joint file, only one statement of receipts and disbursements shall be required. The remuneration of a trustee or administrator of consumer proposals in a joint file shall be the same as if there had been only one debtor who had filed an assignment or consumer proposal.
  4. The total cost of counselling all the individuals involved in the joint file shall not exceed the total cost prescribed by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Rules for the counselling of one individual.
  5. In the case of a bankruptcy, where a conversion from a summary administration to an ordinary administration is made, the Official Receiver will separate the administration of the joint assignment.
  6. Where the administration of the joint file is separated, the trustee shall apportion the joint file trust funds to each estate trust account in the same manner as if the estates had been originally filed separately.

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy
Marc Mayrand

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Date modified:

Instruction no 2R

Dépôt conjoint

Version PDF

Instruction No 2R

50 Ko, 3 pages

Émise :  Le

(Remplace et annule l'Instruction no 2 émise le )

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction.
    « cession »
    Cession déposée chez le séquestre officiel.
    « dossier »
    Une cession de faillite ou une proposition de consommateur, selon le cas.
    « Loi »
    Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.
    « proposition de consommateur »
    S'entend d'une proposition faite aux termes de la section II de la partie III de la Loi.

But

  1. Le but de cette instruction est de préciser les circonstances dans lesquelles une cession de faillite ou une proposition de consommateur de plus d'un individu peut être traitée comme un seul dossier.

Toile de Fond

  1. L'alinéa 155 (f) de la Loi déclare que :

    « dans les circonstances prévues par les instructions du surintendant, les actifs de certaines personnes peuvent être traités comme un seul actif lorsque la nature des rapports qui existent entre elles le justifie. »

  2. Le paragraphe 66.12(1.1) de la Loi déclare que :

    « Dans les circonstances prévues par les instructions du surintendant, les propositions de certains débiteurs consommateurs peuvent être traitées comme une seule proposition de consommateur lorsque la nature des rapports financiers qui existent entre eux le justifie. »

Politiques

  1. Des cessions déposées selon les dispositions concernant l'administration sommaire peuvent être traitées comme un seul actif lorsque les dettes des individus déposant la cession conjointe sont substantiellement les mêmes et que le syndic est d'avis que ceci est dans le meilleur intérêt des débiteurs et des créanciers.
  2. Des propositions de consommateur peuvent être traitées comme une seule proposition de consommateur lorsque les dettes des individus déposant la proposition de consommateur conjointe sont substantiellement les mêmes et que l'administrateur de propositions de consommateur est d'avis que c'est dans le meilleur intérêt des débiteurs et des créanciers.
  3. Un seul relevé de recettes et débours sera requis pour un dossier conjoint. Les honoraires du syndic ou de l'administrateur d'un dossier conjoint sont les mêmes que s'il n'y avait qu'un seul débiteur.
  4. Le coût total pour la consultation donnée à toutes les personnes impliquées dans un dossier conjoint n'excède pas le coût total prescrit par les Règles sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité pour la consultation d'une seule personne.
  5. Dans le cas d'une faillite, lorsqu'un changement de statut d'administration sommaire à ordinaire se fait, le séquestre officiel procède à la division de l'administration de la cession conjointe.
  6. Lorsque l'administration d'un dossier conjoint est divisée, le syndic doit répartir les fonds en fiducie de chaque faillite de la même manière que si, à l'origine, les débiteurs avaient déposé des cessions individuelles.

Le surintendant des faillites
Marc Mayrand

Avis important :

La version HTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions HTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format HTML.

Date de modification :